.22lr input

PDA

WifeofBleys
January 18, 2011, 10:52 PM
Hi, everybody!

I am new to the forum and am looking for some input. I currently have a Taurus 941 .22 magnum. I am new to shooting. I absolutely love my .22, and have definately caught the "shooting bug". My husband and I also have a Hi-Point C9 (that I have shot twice and want to spend more time with) and his pistol of choice is his Walther P99 (that I cannot handle).

I know that many people say that a .22 magnum is not a defense weapon. However, it is what I can handle. I am looking into .22lr as it would be much more affordable to purchase bulk ammunition.

I am looking for input/suggestions. I have looked at the Beretta U22, Phoenix HP22, Heritage Rough Rider, Walther P22 (all online). I would like to know from these particular gun owners what they think of the performance of the weapon. I am also shopping on a budget, so I would ultimately be looking for price along with accuracy and customer service of the manufacturer if a need for repairs arises.

Thanks in advance for your replies!
WifeofBleys

If you enjoyed reading about ".22lr input" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
RidgwayCO
January 19, 2011, 10:29 AM
Welcome to the forum!

My normal recommendation for a .22LR for new shooters is a double action revolver, S&W model 63 or 617. Unfortunately, they're pricey. There are cheaper alternatives, but the quality is spotty and I can't recommend them.

My second choice is to go to a semiauto pistol, where I think a Browning Buckmark hits the price/performance point. My daughters loved my Buckmark Camper with the fiber optic front sight. Get one, learn to use it and care for it, and it'll last forever.

Best of luck in your new hobby!

Coyote3855
January 19, 2011, 11:02 AM