J-frame, K-frame, etc.

PDA

WifeofBleys
January 23, 2011, 02:14 AM
Hi, everyone...

I am new to shooting, as can probably be gleaned from my posts...lol! Several members have written wonderful, informative responses in threads I've started and I so appreciate everyone taking the time to give advice/suggestions. One thing I do not understand and would like to know more about are the different frames of revolvers. I don't mean for someone to sit and type it all out, as I assume that might take a long time. Is there one place I could go (wikipedia or somewhere on the web) to educate myself on this subject?

Thanks again, everyone!

If you enjoyed reading about "J-frame, K-frame, etc." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
David E
January 23, 2011, 02:35 AM
There are different designations for different manufacturers, but 99% of the revolver frame size discussion is about Smith and Wesson's.

While they made other frame sizes in the past, the current ones are:

J-frame (smallest frame)

K-frame (medium)

L-frame (medium/large)

N-frame (large)

X-frame (XX large)

WifeofBleys
January 23, 2011, 02:39 AM
Thanks!! That was alot easier than I expected! :)

Gato MontÚs
January 23, 2011, 02:40 AM
Ahh! Damn you David! I just finished typing everything out.:banghead:

Anyway, Smith and Wesson's website lists everything according to frame size if you want some comparable examples. http://www.smith-wesson.com

WifeofBleys
January 23, 2011, 02:45 AM
Lol, Nasser! Seriously, if there's anything else you would like to add.....

David E
January 23, 2011, 02:48 AM
Ahh! Damn you David! I just finished typing everything out.

I know the feeling all too well !!

shotgunjoel
January 23, 2011, 03:18 AM
J-frame (smallest frame)

K-frame (medium)

L-frame (medium/large)

N-frame (large)