308 Semi-automatic

PDA

Davidfl
February 5, 2011, 07:22 PM
hi guys im new in i wanna no whats a good 308 Semi-automatic rifle help???

If you enjoyed reading about "308 Semi-automatic" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
lobo9er
February 5, 2011, 07:29 PM
So meny choices:) And everyone loves helping spend others money! If I were to be buying a semi-auto .308/7.62 rifle and had a decent budget it would be a DSA Fal of some sort. Fals have great rep, milled reciever, gas regulator is adjustable to run dirty or run with with a variety of ammo and mags are easy to come by right now. That would be my choice lots of options though. Its intended purpose and amount you want to spend would help narrow it down a little.

swiftak
February 5, 2011, 07:31 PM
M1a, BAR.

General Geoff
February 5, 2011, 07:35 PM
hi guys im new in i wanna no whats a good 308 Semi-automatic rifle help???

In the arena of .308 autoloading rifles, a better question would be, which ones to avoid? At the relatively expensive price point of most of them, lemons are few and far between. Just a few of the available platforms:

M14/M1A
FAL
HK-91/PTR-91
AR-10/LR-308

And there's also a new kid on the block, the Kel-Tec RFB. Prices can range from $800 up to $1500+. Or if you're on a string budget (which is comical given you want a .308 autoloader and you'll spend many times the cost of the rifle on any sizeable amount of ammo), you can look at a Saiga .308, which last I heard had a street price of ~$400 to $500.

1stmarine
February 5, 2011, 07:53 PM
You will get so many recommendations that you might go crazy.
There are many good ones and the good thing is you do not need to spend a lot of money to get some very good performance.