AR Bipod on Free Float Handguard


PDA






KyCountry
February 6, 2011, 06:19 PM
Hey guys.

I have a quick question. I'm lookin' to finish up my build and I'm about to buy my free float handguard. I was wondering what my mount situation would be for my bipod. I'm putting Winchester's bipod on there and have seen the studs for sale online for mounting one but didn't know if there would be a stud in the handguard already? Or just a hole? I haven't decided exactly what handguard I'll buy but it won't be an expensive one. Just a standard vented rifle length for a varmint build.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR Bipod on Free Float Handguard" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mljdeckard
February 6, 2011, 06:30 PM
If you look up handguards on a site like Midwayusa.com, they will usually say if a swivel stud is included.

snakeman
February 6, 2011, 06:30 PM
you will need to get the kind of stud that bolts on, not screws in, then if you can't get it to work through the vent slots you will need to drill a hole for it. It's not too hard you should be ok. Remember these handguards are easy to fix screw ups on. If you put a hole in the wrong place by accident then just fill it in with jb quick and smooth it down with fine files. I will be doing the same for my build soon. Good Luck!

Gingerbreadman
February 6, 2011, 06:30 PM
Most of the simple tube FF hand guards that I have seen didn't come with any provisions for mounting a stud. Since they are threaded on I can imagine it being difficult to guarantee that the stud will index at a 6 o'clock position (not taking into account the railed FF hand guards here, I'm sure that there is a system for that).

It is not hard to drill a hole and tap it in aluminum. Just sayin'.

snakeman
February 6, 2011, 06:49 PM
True you could drill and tap it just don't strip it out and remember you will have to tighten it every now and then as it will most likely come loose from a sling pulling on it. Even with loctite. Or you could put the handguards on then mark where the stud goes, take them off, install the stud and put them back on.

Durty
February 6, 2011, 11:58 PM
Or you can drill 2 holes.1 for sling, 1 for bipod. Sling stud in rear, bipod stud in front. I have this setup on one of my bolt guns and its ideal.

KyCountry
February 7, 2011, 01:07 PM
Thanks guys. I'm not worried about drilling it I just wanted to make sure they didn't come with a swivel. Ill probably drill one for the bipod and one for the sling like stated above.

If you enjoyed reading about "AR Bipod on Free Float Handguard" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!