Only my second trip to a gun show and I'm over it.

PDA

KingContraryMan
February 22, 2011, 12:22 PM
No deals to be had, and I knew that, but I thought I'd see something different. Same vendors, same old stuff, junk, boxes of ammo looked like they were 10 years old. Really only a few vendors selling good stuff. I got a Wilson
Combat mag for my Springfield, that was it.

Admittedly I'm new to the whole thing, so there's that.

I guess I was expecting an entirely different setup, crowd, vendors. I think I'll wait a year to two and go back. Thank god for the internet.

I went to Walmart and got my ammo, while standing in line I saw 2 other guys with the gun show stamp. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Only my second trip to a gun show and I'm over it." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rozziboy18
February 22, 2011, 12:30 PM
there once was a time where gunshows were the place to be to get good deals and stock up on ammo. kind of a clearing house for the going out of bizz and over stock. but now adays it more for marking up prices and selling of ebr's. whe i first started going to gs's a glock 22 could be had for 399.00 not bad close to LE pricing in my area. now however a g22 is 599.99!!!! thats ubsurd in ever aspect of the word. two months ago i found a marlin bolt action 22wmr for 325.00 used! at said gunshow! thats 100.00 over retail when there new!
in short, i only go to gunshows to sell guns, and buy reloading surplies. the only reason i do that is because its the only place i can get fgmm primers for 39.99 per 1000 into my hands.

Tommygunn
February 22, 2011, 12:36 PM
Gun Shows are a sort of "shot in the dark." Deals are very unlikely to be had for sure, OTOH I have bought a Springfield XD45, a S&W MP40 and a Glock 19 at a gunshow for the same price I would have paid in a dealer's store.
I sure missed out on a LOT of Nazi paraphenalia and beef jerky though.:rolleyes: