First Rifle, Last Rifle.

PDA

Szymborska
March 9, 2011, 11:29 PM
Hey all, I'm a teacher in Indiana who is getting ready to move to either Mississippi or Arkansas. Recently, I've gotten into cultivating some old-time skills (woodworking, gardening, etc.)

I'd like to start hunting small game, but I've never owned (or even fired) a rifle before. Plinked around with a BB gun when I was a kid, but that's about it.

In the course of my research, I kept coming back to this site. You guys are awesome--knowledgeable, funny, and light on the BS.

My idea for the thread is (as the title suggests) First Rifle, Last Rifle. That is, if you only had ONE .22 to last the rest of your life, which make/model would you choose and why?

I'm considering the normal things like accuracy, durability, reliability, but ALSO things like *ease of maintenance*. If you had to be your own gunsmith, which of these .22 rifles would you trust to give you the fewest problems?

I look forward to hearing from you!

If you enjoyed reading about "First Rifle, Last Rifle." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Abel
March 9, 2011, 11:32 PM
A CZ bolt action 22 of some sort.

AlexanderA
March 9, 2011, 11:36 PM
If I only had one rifle, it would have to be something heavier than a .22 rimfire.

Domino
March 9, 2011, 11:36 PM
As far as ease of maintenance? 10/22 hands down. Not only is it very easy to build these rifles from the ground up, spare parts are cheap and super abundant. Reliablity is very high and depending on parts these guns can be as accurate as any other 22 LR.

Red State
March 9, 2011, 11:48 PM
The 10/22s are great, but if I could only have ONE durable .22 rifle, I would choose the CZ.

Szymborska
March 9, 2011, 11:48 PM
Whoops, AlexanderA, I should have clarified. I meant First Rifle, Last Rifle *for small game.*