Bushmaster vs. Colt AR

PDA

milefile
March 16, 2011, 07:04 PM
I'm doing my homeowrk and pre-purchase research on my next firearm purchase. It'll be an AR and for a number of reasons it'll more than likely be a Bushmaster or a Colt. I already own two colt pistols and know first hand that "quality makes it a Colt". I've heard good things about Bushmaster, and the shop Ive done most of my business with sells a lot of them and I know I'll get a good price. I'm looking for your comments to tilt me in one direction or another, or maybe just make me pick the one I like best. But I'm new to AR's and any pros and cons you can offer are really appreciated. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Bushmaster vs. Colt AR" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bartholomew Roberts
March 16, 2011, 07:06 PM
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pwswheghNQsEuEhjFwPrgTA&single=true&gid=5&output=html

That link discusses only the features in M4-style ARs; but it does help give an idea of how ARs that look visually identical can have major differences in price and components.

Sky
March 16, 2011, 07:15 PM
http://forums.officer.com/forums/showthread.php?81462-So-you-want-to-buy-an-AR-15-huh

There are many choices; just educate yourself a little and know the purpose you intend to use your AR. You won't go wrong.

Also there is a thread now going on about Bushies

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=581029

Pick a brand, do a search, and you will find lovers and haters for just about everything.

Motega
March 16, 2011, 07:20 PM
I own a Bushmaster and I am very happy with it. It is 10 years old and I treat it with respect but I don't baby it- it isn't a "safe queen". Lots of time in the pouring rain and lots of rounds through it and it never even hiccups.