Blaser Combination guns

PDA

Eukatae
April 2, 2011, 11:44 AM
I am buying a Blaser Combo gun and would love to get some feedback from anyone with experience with Blaser, como guns, or just some good ideas.

They are a bloody fortune but I have wanted a combo gun since I was a kid and Blaser seems to be the only folks making them. They make two models that appeal to me:

The S2 (http://www.blaser-usa.com/S2-Side-by-Side.99.0.html?&L=0\\\%22%20onfocus%3D\\\%22blurLink%28this%29%3B) and the B97 (http://www.blaser.de/B95-B97-Shotgun-Rifles.97.0.html?&L=1)

I already ordered and paid for the b97 in 12ga/308 but it's not to late to change my order.

I am a farmer and I spend a lot of time on horse back and on foot managing my herd, checking fences and that sort of thing.

I get land owner game permits, and have plentiful grouse, pheasant, quail, chuckers, cotton tail, white tail deer, elk, and the occasional moose. My fair share of varmints as well that do damage to my sheep herd and on occasion my cattle,

I ordered the Blaser saddle scope mount but I hate the iron sights on the thing, the sight radius is half of what it could be and I just don't get why they did that. The are great for shot but completely inadequate for a rifle. I would really like to find a nice tang peep sight like a marble but don't know if there are any that would fit.

I intend to have a saddle scabbard made for it so the S2 my be a bit wide.

Edit to add:

The reason a tang peep seems so appropriate is for quick service with both the shot and rifle I can't leave a scope mounted as the shot barrel would be useless. In most cases mounting the scope would take longer than I have. A tang sight would give me great flexibility for accurate rifle fire without impeding my field of view for use of the shot barrel. Also it would fit nicely into a saddle scabbard and I wouldn't have to worry about batteries or fumbling to turn it on.