Discharging a Firearm in a "Residential Area".

PDA

grant1265
May 12, 2011, 09:40 PM
A few weeks ago, i was teaching my friend's 6 year old how to shoot. He was having a lots of fun and we were shooting a bowling pin at about 15-20 yds. at the end of my driveway with a henry lever octagon .22 with remington thunderbolts and mini mags. Keep in mind, this was into a completely safe dirt backstop. Anyway about an hour after my friend left and I went inside, the door bell rang. I went down and answered, and it was my closest "neighbor" that lives about 1 mile away. He said that it was illegal to discharge a firearm in a residential area and if I did it again he would call the cops:barf:. I kindly said I would not do it again and cleaned up the brass out front just in case the police came. The odd thing is that I have been shooting for almost 3 years and no one has mentioned anything( I don't even know how he heard the .22 rifle from a mile away). Also, I live in a very large development, but i live in the only house in here. I'm in west albemarle county, VA. Just wanted to see what you guys thought of this.

P.S.- I was going to post this in legal, but didn't really think it belonged there.

If you enjoyed reading about "Discharging a Firearm in a "Residential Area"." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
9mm+
May 12, 2011, 09:47 PM
Have you looked through the VA laws and any local ordinances? I don't think we can provide good counsel here since your situation will unique to where you live. You don't appear to live in an incorporated town or city where firearm discharges are almost always a no-no.

JCallaway82
May 12, 2011, 09:48 PM