Ruger 1022 Questions

PDA

fbernar
June 10, 2011, 02:55 AM
Greetings everyone! I am very new to rifles and I have gone to the range before to shoot my 10/22 and noticed that the stock barrel gets VERY hot when I shoot quickly and in volume.

1. I am thinking about getting the Tapco Intrafuse stock and was wondering if the stock barrel gets too hot to allow for the Tapco stock to be used if shooting in volume? Will it burn the plastic used to make the Tapco stock?

2. Also, is the Tapco stock good for target shooting (non-competitive) of about 35 to 100 yards or should I go a different route? Is it good for using scopes (I have a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40) or is it more built towards using tactical optics such as a redot or something along those lines?

3. I see a lot of people recommending the VQ trigger mods as one of the first things to do to increase accuracy on a 1022. Not specific to a Ruger, but is a trigger pull under 3 or 4 pounds safe for a rifle that one would possibly allow children to plink with or would it increase the accidental discharge risk?

Thanks in advance!

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger 1022 Questions" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Davek1977
June 10, 2011, 03:24 AM
I don't think you have ANYTHING to worry about. I run Tapco furniture on my AK, and while the barrel will actually be smoking and way too hot to touch after a few mag dumps, the Galil hand-guard has never shown any indication of warping or melting, and these temps would be much higher than those you'd generate with a .22LR

Breakmyfootoff
June 10, 2011, 03:26 AM
1: I've had a 10/22 in a synthetic stock before and rapidly shot several magazines (including 50 rounders) through it with no problems. I wouldnt think you'd have any problems from heat.