BCM upper... Issues or is this typical?

PDA

SMITHWESS
June 11, 2011, 10:13 PM
I'm new to the AR system, first of all.

I put together a rifle recently, with the largest component being a complete BCM EAG upper half. It's a 14.5 mid with pinned brake. This one: http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-EAG-14-5-BFH-Mid-Length-Upper-Receiver-LaRue-p/bcm-uh-eag1.htm

I've found two things that it absolutely chokes on -

1 - Steel cased rounds. Absolutely won't feed 'em. Look, I know this is cheap crap from mother russia but I'm curious why my friends' less expensive rifles chew through it with no issues.

2 - I recently bought a .22 conversion for it, and it gets pretty dirty shooting with the CMMG .22 bolt installed. So after firing approximately 200 rounds of CCI with the conversion I threw the 5.56 bolt back in and it would fail to eject. It looked like the bolt wasn't coming back far enough to shuck a new round off the mag, and it left the spent brass in the pipe.

So I pulled the 5.56 bolt back out, wiped everything down as best I could with a rag, relubed the bolt and that didn't help the issue.

After I got it home and could do a thorough cleaning the problem was solved.

So, being new to the platform I suppose I'm just wondering if I have a very tight BCG or if this is at all common with these rifles.

Any help or suggestions is appreciated.

I asked BCM about it and they just said garbage in garbage out. I get that but again, why don't my friends' Stag or DPMS have the same issues?

BTW I typically buy Rem UMC, PMC, or an occasional box of IMI. When the rifle is sparkling clean it shoots great.

If you enjoyed reading about "BCM upper... Issues or is this typical?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mc223
June 11, 2011, 10:24 PM
:p Wow that just tears me up that one of them chart toppers choked on 22 LR.:evil:

The gas port is probably plugged with lead from the 22.:eek: