Question about Hornady LnL AP Primer Tubes


PDA






dbarnhart
June 12, 2011, 03:58 PM
There is a progressive press in my future and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about each one before making a decision. I have a question for Hornady LnL AP owners:

Do you own a bunch of primer tubes? Hornady says the large primer tube holds 70 primers. I can't see myself stopping every 70 rounds to refill the tube.

I'm comparing the Hornady LnL AP to the RCBS Pro 2000 where 40 bucks buys me enough empty APS strips for a thousand primers (if I don't by them pre-loaded), and a few minutes with their strip loading tool would have them ready to go.

If you enjoyed reading about "Question about Hornady LnL AP Primer Tubes" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
barnettbill
June 12, 2011, 05:29 PM
My LnL primer tube holds 100+ large pistol primers. I alway put a box of 100 in and there seems to be enough room for a few more.

nyc71
June 12, 2011, 05:39 PM
I bought extra primer tube pickup & they hold a little over 100 primers. I recommend the Dillon instead. They are cheaper & the plastic tip picks them up easier.


"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety"- Benjamin Franklin

BYJO4
June 12, 2011, 07:40 PM
As mentioned, the Hornady tube holds over 100 primers. I also use RCBS tubes that I have accumulated over the years so I can preload 500 primers if I desire. I have a plastic dowel sitting in my primer feeding tube that I marked to indicate that I have only 10 primers left at which time I add more primers.

cfullgraf
June 12, 2011, 07:53 PM
Progressive press mounted priming systems and I do not get along, both Dillon SDB and Hornady. One priming failure in 1000 is too many in my book, but I get lots more.

I resize in one session. When have enough resized and cleaned brass to make a run, then I hand prime before loading on the progressive.

But, if I had faith in the priming systems, I would have several primer tubes. i would load them before beginning the reloading session. By charging the tubes in batches, time can be saved versus stopping everyone 100 rounds to refill the tube.

raddiver
June 12, 2011, 09:34 PM
I guess im lucky.
Ive done about 2-3K rounds so far and havent had a primer detonate yet.
There is another thread about that same thing happening with no known reason.

I guess at some point, ill have a carbon fiber rod in my ceiling. :(

357Shooter
June 13, 2011, 07:47 AM
I do almost the same as cfull, I tumble my spent shells, then resize-deprime, reprise and expand in one session. I end up with brass all set to charge and seat with no worry about how the primers are seating. It gives you a chance to inspect each primer before your next steps and I believe makes for a much better set-up, less going on all at the same time. I would guess many will say "too slow" but I enjoy reloading and I can do 500 "357's in a bit more than 1 hour so.... just my two c's worth.

Canuck-IL
June 13, 2011, 09:03 AM
One box of 100 per tube, makes keeping track of rounds easy. Get the Dillon tubes - the tip is much easier on pickup.
/Bryan

floydster
June 13, 2011, 09:06 AM
I do the same as cfull and 357, priming on the LNL is a total pain, been there done that.

gregj
June 13, 2011, 11:11 AM
I only have one small primer and one large primer tube. Each easily holds 100 primers. Makes it simple to batch up loads, and to take a break every now and then. I picked my LNL up used, and have no problems priming on it. So far I've probably loaded 5-6K rounds, and it continues to work quite well. YEMV

Canuck-IL
June 13, 2011, 12:30 PM
priming on the LNL is a total pain, been there done that
Interesting ... I'm a little over 40k pistol rounds and have had no problems with the priming. Keep it clean, dry lube once in a great while and all is good.
/B

dbarnhart
June 13, 2011, 04:04 PM
So if my goal is to load 1000 rounds in one sitting, I should probably have 10 tubes full of primers on hand, correct?

I say this because if I were using an RCBS Pro 2000, I'd probably want 1000 primers already loaded in APS strips.

REL1203
June 13, 2011, 05:38 PM
So if my goal is to load 1000 rounds in one sitting, I should probably have 10 tubes full of primers on hand, correct?


I only have 2 each for my LNL, what I do is load up one, then dump it into the LNL, and then load up the other 2, so basically i have 300 ready. But really, isnt not that hard to load up 100, dump it, load it up again, and get 200 done, then do the same thing, it really doesnt take very long to load them up

marcus40
June 13, 2011, 06:24 PM
My Brother and I got one last December. I use the plastic rod that came with the press as a follower for the primer tube. I have it marked at empty location, and the Tube does hold over 100 primers. I let the plastic tube ride in the primer feed tube and when the empty mark starts getting close then I add another 100 primers. I have used the small primer tube for 38cal reloading and the large primer tube for the 243 cal winchester ammo. I have reloaded over 300 38cal reloads and close to 100 243's without any problems so far. I did notice on the large primers that it takes a little extra pressure to seat the primer, but it still works.
Just my 2 cents,
Marcus:)

TxBobS
June 13, 2011, 07:17 PM
My Brother and I got one last December. I use the plastic rod that came with the press as a follower for the primer tube. I have it marked at empty location, and the Tube does hold over 100 primers. I let the plastic tube ride in the primer feed tube and when the empty mark starts getting close then I add another 100 primers. I have used the small primer tube for 38cal reloading and the large primer tube for the 243 cal winchester ammo. I have reloaded over 300 38cal reloads and close to 100 243's without any problems so far. I did notice on the large primers that it takes a little extra pressure to seat the primer, but it still works.
Just my 2 cents,
Marcus:)
I do the exact same thing. Easy to do, only need 1 tube and you get a little break every 100 rounds.

Blue68f100
June 13, 2011, 08:29 PM
I have been using the priming system on the LNL ever since I got the press, 15k and going. Back then they did not supply the plastic push rod. I noticed if you got down to 7-8 primer there was not enough weight to keep the primer flat in the tube, causing feeding problems. I have added the RCBS low primer alarm to my LNL by the use of a steel bushing. I then use the plastic rod that came with the RCBS. This goes off with 10 primers left in the tube. If I want to use the remaining to feed I use my brass push rod I made. I used epoxy and attached a spent primer cap to the brass rod. LP on one end and SP on the other. The weighted rod will insure the primers feed without hanging up. When all the primers are used up the brass rod will lock the sled to the rear. You also hear the thud when the brass rod drops to the base plate. Sometimes I will add a piece of tape to the brass rod to set the alarm off when it's empty.

Due to the way primers feed with the sled the primers must be kept flat or they will hang (tilt). Now if you are using Wolf primers you may need to add a paper shim under the primer feed base. Wolf at times run a little high/thick. The paper shim (0.003") is all that is needed to make them feed right.

dbarnhart
June 13, 2011, 10:11 PM
Thank you. You guys are a wealth of information. I appreciate it

If you enjoyed reading about "Question about Hornady LnL AP Primer Tubes" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!