M14/M1a Bolt Locking Up (won't cycle)


PDA






General Disarray
June 19, 2011, 03:49 AM
I have very little experience with my M14 (Fulton/Polytech build), so I haven't a clue how to address what my bolt it doing. Basically it gets stuck randomly both with and without rounds in the chamber; but not everytime. When it happens its when I pull the charging handle, it moves back about a quarter inch until the roller on the bolt fails to allow the bolt to start rotating. It is just begining to move back and rotate, but locks. The only way to move it is to put it into a padded vise and yank on it like hell. Hope I'm describing this clear enough. Any thoughts?

If you enjoyed reading about "M14/M1a Bolt Locking Up (won't cycle)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bigedp51
June 19, 2011, 12:54 PM
http://m14forum.com/m14/20697-bolt-binding-up-help.html

General Disarray
June 19, 2011, 03:19 PM
Thanks biged, but that's not what my rifle's issue is. It won't cycle whether the trigger group is in it or not. Its out of the stock right now, and when I pull the charge handle it binds at about .25" back.

Dreamcast270mhz
June 19, 2011, 03:38 PM
Try taking the bolt group apart and reassembling it, greasing all moving parts.

General Disarray
June 19, 2011, 07:06 PM
Yeah, I did. It's happening when the bolt starts to rotate as it moves back. I'm wondering if the roller could be the issue as its locking up right when the roller should rotate up into the corresponding groove on the oprod.

rehorne
June 19, 2011, 07:15 PM
Have you greased the bolt roller? It needs to greased not just oiled. I had this issue also and finally grease the roller and have had no more problem with my NM M1A

Jim K
June 20, 2011, 12:27 AM
Did Fulton rebuild that rifle? If so, I would contact them. Reports indicate they are pretty good at standing behind their work.

BTW, what happens when you fire it?

Jim

General Disarray
June 20, 2011, 03:11 AM
Yes, Fulton did it 10 years ago. They built a NM onto a Polytech receiver. I'm the second owner.

It just started acting funky; when I fire it some rounds eject, and then one will fire but fail to extract and just be stuck. It's game over at that point until I get it into a vice again and yank on the rod till it releases.

Ramone
June 20, 2011, 10:12 AM
Clean your locking lugs.

If you enjoyed reading about "M14/M1a Bolt Locking Up (won't cycle)" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!