Gold projectiles

PDA

gamestalker
July 10, 2011, 02:52 AM
One of my part time hobbies is finding gold. I live in Az. so it's a pretty good place to make small finds without too much effort. So over the years I have accumulated a fair amount of gold, in the neighborhood of 6 1/2 ounces. Recently I thought of making 6- 125 gr. hollow points made of pure gold for my .357. But since I have no knowledge of metal properties I was wondering if anyone would be able give me a go, no go, answer. I don't actually plan on shooting up what would be a rather expensive cylinder of projectiles being they are primarily intended as a converstaion piece, but they will be in the firearm I carry most of the time, so I would like to know if my firearm will explode or other wise suffer a catrastrophic failure if I ever had to use them for S.D..

If you enjoyed reading about "Gold projectiles" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dmazur
July 10, 2011, 03:11 AM
Well, gold is maleable like copper, and it has a high melting point. So far so good.

The problem is its density, which is roughly 1.5 times that of lead.

As you know, charge weights are lower for heavier bullets (same cartridge, same powder).

So, you might consider using COL data for a 125gr (as that would be the mold size and the location of the crimp groove) and charge data for 180gr (as that would be a good guess as to the weight of a 125gr bullet cast in gold.)

I have no idea if the friction of a solid gold bullet is similar to that of a jacketed lead bullet, so this is pure guesswork.

Probably not a good idea to ignore the COL / bullet weight issue, though.

Good luck.

leadcounsel
July 10, 2011, 03:24 AM