Quietest gun for self defense

PDA

BluegrassDan
July 14, 2011, 09:47 PM
I'm a professional musician with some slight hearing loss. I shoot with earplugs and ear muffs combined in order to keep the hearing I have left, as it is VERY important for my career. Even while deer hunting I wear ear plugs!

I often worry about the highly unlikely situation where I might need to defend myself either in my home or car. I carry a 9mm M&P handgun, and have several shotguns and rifles around the house.

Which type of legal, non-supressed firearm poses the least threat for hearing loss?

I'm inclined to think that a shotgun would be easiest on the ears, but I could be wrong. What do you think?

Thanks in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "Quietest gun for self defense" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Shienhausser
July 14, 2011, 09:55 PM
Anything above .22 indoors will be extremely loud. Even my tiny Makarov 9x18 w/o plugs was very loud.

zxcvbob
July 14, 2011, 09:56 PM
How about a .45 Colt or .357 Magnum (loaded with .38 Special +P's) carbine?

MedWheeler
July 14, 2011, 10:00 PM
Use a .22 caliber rifle, preferably a semi-auto. Test it extensively first with your chosen ammunition. Quality ammo, such as CCI Mini-Mags, are very hard to beat for reliability. That's what I keep in the banana mag for my Ruger 10/22. For a handgun, even a .22 will make your ears ring. Personally, I'd rather risk some more hearing loss than risk what I might face if my home-defense weapon is chosen based on that, but I do trust a good .22 rifle.
Shotguns are quite loud.

pbearperry
July 14, 2011, 10:10 PM