Room for the trimmer?


PDA






CLP
July 19, 2011, 10:41 PM
I've decided to buy a Dillon 650 to mainly load .223. In the months to come, I plan on adding the casefeeder and a Dillon RT-1200 electric trimmer.

Two questions:
1. Will the electric trimmer fit with the casefeeder hooked up? It looks fairly large from the pictures, and I just can't picture it hooked up easily. I would think it would have to be at station 2- just after sizing, so it's right next to the casefeed tube.

2. If it does work- I lose the powder check, right? (sizing, trimming, priming, charging, and seating)

If you enjoyed reading about "Room for the trimmer?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
dmazur
July 20, 2011, 01:43 AM
I don't have a 650, so the following is an educated guess rather than first-hand experience -

The picture in the Dillon user's manual for the 1200 trimmer shows it on a 550B, which I have. It just about fills the 4-station toolhead with nothing else mounted. The 650 toolhead just isn't that much larger than the 550B.

Also, the 650 manual shows that the primer mechanism and powder measure are "designed in" to Station 2. I don't believe you can move them to Station 3.

I believe Dillon intends for the user to run resizing/trimming as a separate step, with a second toolhead, rather than an "in-line" process.

Also, the Dillon instructions for the 1200 say that the next step is to "decap and expand" the trimmed case, and they detail how to adjust the normal sizing die so it doesn't resize the case twice. The 1200 trimmer isn't a complete replacement for a sizing die, apparently.

Maybe a couple of 650 experts will chime in...

amlevin
July 20, 2011, 10:01 AM
I have both the 650 and the RT 1200 and YES, they work well together, case feeder and trimmer. I decap/trim/size as a separate operation, not while loading.

I mounted mine on a separate tool head along with a universal depriming die. The Trimmer fits well in position #4 with the sizing die in #1.

I only use the RT 1200 for .223 and just de-capping and running the cases through the Trimmer with its sizing die has been more than adequate for me. I load with a Montana Gold 55 gr FMJ-BT and they slip right in without the need for an expander. Can't speak for other calibers but it would be no problem to merely switch positions and trim/size first.

Once processed I then run the cases back through the tumbling/cleaning process to remove all lube.

As for trying to run the trimmer during regular reloading, it won't work unless you de-prime your cases first. Since the powder dispenser has to be used on position #2 for proper operation of the "fail safe", and the RT1200 does not de-prime, it isn't possible to just load cases in the feeder and start loading with the trimmer in position #1. Even if you do depime first and then try to trim/size and reload from the same setup, just remember that the trimmer pretty much requires the use of a vacuum cleaner to suck out the chips produced while trimming. Having this air flow right next to the powder dispenser could mean some particles of powder being picked up by the vacuum. After time there might be enough collected to create a real safety hazard.

For my money it's best to set up the trimmer on a separate tool head and just process all the brass at once. The RT1200 makes quick work of the job.

Hangingrock
July 21, 2011, 08:07 AM
If it was I and it isn’t, I’d go with a stand alone unit such as a Giraud or Gracey power trimmers.

Years ago I purchased a Gracey which has been satisfactory but the design is some what dated by todays standards but the trim rate is more than adequate. The Giraud is a more recent design with improved features.

As for the Dillon do you really want a Shop-Vac running during the entire trimming session?

jmorris
July 21, 2011, 09:54 AM
Even a 1050 doesn't have enough stations to trim and load in one pass. I size/deprime and trim on a 650 and load on a 1050. Just the trimmer itself is loud but it's the only way to size and trim 1800 cases an hour that I know of. For the vac, I have a board cut the width of one of the windows in my reloading room that has a hole for the hose to slide through so the vac is outside.

Hangingrock
July 21, 2011, 04:59 PM
the only way to size and trim 1800 cases an hour

Every 2-second now that’s an amazing rate of production!

If you enjoyed reading about "Room for the trimmer?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!