Freedom Arms bankruptcy

PDA

JellyJar
July 26, 2011, 11:27 PM
Does any one know about Freedom Arms' bankruptcy case? What is the current status and such?

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Freedom Arms bankruptcy" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
powell&hyde
July 28, 2011, 03:07 PM
Here is a link to a pdf file regarding the latest bankruptcy case.

https://ecf.txnd.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/show_public_doc?2011cv0611-4

JellyJar
July 28, 2011, 10:26 PM
Thanks for the link but not being a lawyer I don't understand what all that means.

Does anyone here understand what is happening and why?

Thanks

JJ

Kendal Black
July 28, 2011, 10:32 PM
This space for rent.

Comment withdrawn.

Dnaltrop
July 28, 2011, 10:33 PM
Lunacy...

What fool buys a non-transfer bar Six(five)-gun, and carries one under the hammer? Shooters had it figured out in 1873... Oh yes... the guy who blew his leg off because he knew better than 134 years of history.

Hell I knew the rule about keeping one empty when I was 10, years before I even handled a real one.

I hope they come out of bankruptcy intact, I'd love to have one myself.

powell&hyde
July 29, 2011, 09:45 AM
It is suspected that Freedom Arms loss of a product liability lawsuit forced them into the chapter 13 filing. IIRC some guy shot himself in the leg with a 454 and didn't think he was personally responsible for his actions (or lack there-of by not putting the hammer down over an empty chamber).

feedthehogs
July 29, 2011, 10:34 AM
According to PDF above, the case stemmed from two friends going bear hunting. As they were unloading the gear, the guy with the FA gun had it accidentaly fall causing it to go off and striking his friend in the hip and leg.

Being that his friend prolly doesn't have a deep wallet, the injured sued the gun manufacturer and the place that sold the gun.