Issue with using powder measure and loading block


PDA






janobles14
August 21, 2011, 01:28 AM
so heres my problem...

i use a standard 50 round loading block that one might get at any gun store. it is 5x10 round and i would guess about 7"x11". i was recently given a lee perfect powder measure and thought i would try it out. the accuracy of this thing is nothing short of exceptional! once i got a rhythm down i was able to really crank out the loads when i did them 10 at a time. here is where the problem surfaced.

the stand isnt recessed enough to charge the rounds outside of the outer rows. has anyone figured anything out that will allow someone to freely move the entire block around and charge all the cases? maybe i just missed something and am blind in my frustrations!

i really like the speed and accuracy of the lee measure but am annoyed that i cant use my full block.

please help!

thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Issue with using powder measure and loading block" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
T Bran
August 21, 2011, 01:55 AM
janobles14
I have never used that method of charging cases. Normally I use 2 blocks one to hold primed cases the other for completed rounds after charging a case I immediately seat a bullet then place the completed cartridge in the second block. I would be afraid of accidentally skipping a case if using a different method. However if you feel confident doing it that way get 2 pieces of angle iron and extend the bottom of the mounting bracket outwards or just bend a piece of .25x2'' flatbar to your desired setback.
Best of luck

T

cfullgraf
August 21, 2011, 09:52 AM
I load that way all the time, although I usually have to turn the block around after charging three rows.

I believe the answer to your problem is make a new stand for your powder measure or buy a new powder measure that comes with a stand with a deeper throat.

All of my powder measures are mounted on their own free standing floor stand so that vibrations from the reloading bench do not upset the powder column. The last one I built has a throat large enough so that I can charge all five rows without changing the position of the loading block in my hand.

mbopp
August 21, 2011, 10:17 AM
My Redding measure is mounted on the edge of my bench. But the 2X4 support under the bench top only lets me charge 3 rows at a time, I just turn the loading block the other way and finish the last 2 rows.
I charge 50 cases, the visually inspect the powder level under a good light. I tried mounting the measure on my turret press but didn't like the idea of not being able to verify the powder charge in each case before seating a bullet.

res45
August 21, 2011, 10:20 AM
I don't charge cases in the block,I place all my case both rifle and pistol in a separate container on the left side of the powder measure and as each case is charged with either my Lil Dandy or RCBS DUO Measure it is them placed in the loading block on my right side.

It's the way I have always done it and it helps eliminate the problem of double charges.

Steve C
August 21, 2011, 02:20 PM
Here is my procedure and quality control measures when using a single stage loader and a loading block.

As re-sized and prepped cases are hand primed I place them all upside down in the block (primer up). Then pick them up one at a time and charge them from the powder measure and place them back in the block upright, this keeps track of what's been charged and what is left to charge. Every 10th throw is checked on the scale.

Once all the cases have been charged and are sitting in the block they get a visual check under a good light for powder and level. Any charge level that looks off is checked on the scale and thrown again if necessary.

Bullets then get seated and rounds go into a box.

jcwit
August 21, 2011, 02:31 PM
What Steve said.

sage5907
August 21, 2011, 03:03 PM
I never liked the idea of putting powder in a large group of cases at the same time before installing the bullets. To me you're just looking for trouble. I personally weigh each charge, put the powder in a case, look into the case to confirm the powder level, and then go directly to the bullet seating die and seat the bullet. I have known more than one novice reloader who has seated bullets in a case without powder. Popping a bullet into the rifleing and then firing another bullet behind it is a good way to get a big surprise. The second problem is that if you're using a powder that doesn't fill up the void in the case you could double charge a case and get another big surprice. Safety comes first even it takes a little longer. BW

dbarnhart
August 21, 2011, 03:21 PM
I believe that the RCBS powder measure stand provides enough clearance to do what you are asking. RCBS used to make an 'extension bracket' (for lack of a better word) that provided even more clearance. Here is the one from Hornady:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/default.aspx?productNumber=828213

You could easily fabricate something similar.

I used to load 45 ACP this way. After charging, it was easy to set the loading block on the bench, scan the cases, and verify no double-charge.

beatledog7
August 21, 2011, 03:44 PM
I could charge the cases while they're in the block since my measure outlet sits below bench level and allows enough clearance, but much like Steve, I do one at a time.

I start with 50 ready-to-charge in the block. I was not putting them in primer side up, but I will now. Good tip!

For the first 5-10 rounds I weigh the case, throw the charge directly into it, and weigh it again to calculate the delta and thus verify the charge. If it's right, I place it in the block. If not, I pour it all back into the measure and try again, adjusting the throw as required. (Trickling is annoying to me.)

After getting three or four in a row to throw just right, I continue but weighing only every fifth case (easy to keep track as I use a block that has rows of 5). I readjust if required, but my Hornady is very consistent once set. When all 50 are charged, I visually inspect the whole block to ensure no cases are empty or doubled then seat all fifty bullets before I leave the bench.

ranger335v
August 21, 2011, 09:37 PM
I've charged most of my loads directly into cases sitting in the block for decades, then "eyeballing" the powder column for consistancy before moving on. Never had an over or under charge.

I don't have that measure (or stand) but I believe it is a good rig. If you can't charge three rows in the block then you need a different stand or a smaller block.

mahansm
August 21, 2011, 09:46 PM
If you're using an electronic scale, just tare the scale with the fresh primed, uncharged case. After charging, the scale will read out the weight of the powder charge directly, eliminating the sometimes error prone calculation. My scale will perform the tare function in about 3 seconds.

As an occasional added check, you can dump the charge and reweigh to be sure you see 0.0 on the readout

beatledog7
August 21, 2011, 10:11 PM
If you're using an electronic scale, just tare the scale with the fresh primed, uncharged case. After charging, the scale will read out the weight of the powder charge directly, eliminating the sometimes error prone calculation. My scale will perform the tare function in about 3 seconds.

As an occasional added check, you can dump the charge and reweigh to be sure you see 0.0 on the readout

mahanasm, sounds good, but it requires weighing every case and taring the scale 50 times for 50 rounds. If the goal is to make each round exact, as one would for target competition, it's a perfect way of doing so without any math.

The calculation I do is quite simple as I know my measure throws within a couple tenths. All I have to do is figure out what the tenths reading has to be. For example, if the case weighs 66.3gr and I'm charging with 4.3gr of powder, I just look for the scale to read xx.6 and I know I'm good. Every five rounds I recheck vice every single round, and no retaring required.

jcwit
August 21, 2011, 10:47 PM
If you're using an electronic scale, just tare the scale with the fresh primed, uncharged case. After charging, the scale will read out the weight of the powder charge directly, eliminating the sometimes error prone calculation. My scale will perform the tare function in about 3 seconds.

As an occasional added check, you can dump the charge and reweigh to be sure you see 0.0 on the readout

Not a good tried and true way to do it, way to much varience in case weight. But if you think it works for you then I guess you can do it.

I never liked the idea of putting powder in a large group of cases at the same time before installing the bullets. To me you're just looking for trouble.

This is why you visiually check each case on the block with a hand held flashlight. Done it this way for decades with out a problem.

I personally weigh each charge,

I reloaded 500 rounds last night starting at 10:00, if I weighed each charge I wouldn't be done till 3:00 AM. This is why I own a powder measure and an Auto Disk for handgun calibers.

cfullgraf
August 21, 2011, 11:30 PM
This is why you visiually check each case on the block with a hand held flashlight. Done it this way for decades with out a problem.
.

Yes, after charging all the cases in a loading block I verify that there is powder in every case and at approximately the same level. Any case that looks too full or not full enough gets dumped and recharged. This rarely happens though as I get great consistency with my powder measures.

Like jcwit, been checking cases this way for decades.

Cherokee
August 21, 2011, 11:46 PM
What "cfullgraf" said. Been doing it for 50 years.

Friendly, Don't Fire!
August 22, 2011, 08:05 AM
I have the RCBS Powder Measure and RCBS PM Stand. Frankford Arsenal reloading blocks (blue) work perfectly, just enter the block under the PM from the two long-sides.

No problems at all.

I agree with others that, being able to visually compare the depth of powder in all 50 cartridges allows one to be sure the powder level is exactly the same. If loading only one at a time and putting a pill onto the case, there is really no way that I know of to compare each loaded case to every other loaded case!

JimKirk
August 22, 2011, 11:43 AM
Yes, after charging all the cases in a loading block I verify that there is powder in every case and at approximately the same level. Any case that looks too full or not full enough gets dumped and recharged. This rarely happens though as I get great consistency with my powder measures.

Like jcwit, been checking cases this way for decades.

I've been doing the same for 40 + years ...

Jimmy K

algrayjr
August 22, 2011, 12:55 PM
Try hanging your stand from a shelf above the bench. The power measure
will be completely clear under the drop and you can touch every slot in a 50 or 100 slot tray. Cheers!:neener:

Thats up side down for those that dont get it.!

chrt396
August 22, 2011, 02:55 PM
RCBS makes a table top mounted stand that should work. You do three rows...turn block around and do the other two.

If you enjoyed reading about "Issue with using powder measure and loading block" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!