1911 or polymer 45?

PDA

bam
August 28, 2011, 07:01 AM
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum but have been searching posts for a while. while I have found some very valuable information I haven't found the exact answer I am looking for. My question is this, For daily carry I want a full size 45 I have put my hands on a para P14 a S&W M&P 45 and an ATI GI 45. I am VERY fond of the Glock 21 not the sf and I am not worried about grip size b/c my fingertips almost touched my palm when holding the P14 so my hands should be big enough. I am weighing the pros and cons of the G21 and a Ria tac 8. I want both but I can't decide which to buy first b/c it may take as long as a year to get the money for the other and I want to beat any gun grabbers hi cap ban. I am not a complete newbie to handguns I own a S&W .357 and a S&W sigma .40 but I don't have the years of experience that others have nor do I live in an area where I can rent firearms to test them out, all I can do is handle whatever Academy, Woods n water, or the local small gunstore has in stock.

If you enjoyed reading about "1911 or polymer 45?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
hvychev77
August 28, 2011, 07:20 AM
my suggestion is go with the Glock......reliability is the name! You will get mixed comments on here for sure. I've never owned a 1911 before, so i can't say much about them except that one day I will own some!! haha! i carry a glock26 daily and love mine. No hiccups or issues at all.

686wheelman
August 28, 2011, 07:27 AM
I won a Full size 1911 and a Glock 21. If my life depended on it it would have to be the GLock.

Zerodefect
August 28, 2011, 08:35 AM
Under $1000, the newest batch of polymer pistols are the way to go. If you can afford $1500+ and know exactly what you're after, then the 1911 pulls ahead.