FTX loading problem.


PDA






Ruger44mag
September 6, 2011, 05:26 PM
Hey everyone,

I went to the store last night and picked up a box of hornadys FTX bullets for my 30-30. On the box it said "30 cal .308 160gr FTX". This morning I went over to the reloading bench and started to reload some of the rounds. I got the powder all measured out and poured it in the brass and then continued on to seat the bullet. I placed the bullet in ram and proceeded to lift it into the seater die. As the bullet touched the top of the die I felt it seat just a little (I had the seater backed out all the way so I could set the OAL) into the brass. I backed the ram down to inspect the case. To my surprise the FTX had crushed the shoulder and neck of the brass. I put 4 more in and they all did the same thing. I was starting to think that maybe I had picked up the wrong box. So I went and got a factory 30-30 FTX pulled the bullet and compared it to the ones I bought from the store the night before. They measured the exact same. I went ahead to seat the factory FTX back in its original case and it did the same thing the others did. So basically I am stumped!:confused: I have absolutely no idea why itís doing that! Any suggestions would be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "FTX loading problem." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
September 6, 2011, 05:31 PM
Tried using a chamfering tool to break the sharp inside edge of the case mouth?
That right there should fix the problem.

rc

Ruger44mag
September 6, 2011, 05:50 PM
Tried using a chamfering tool to break the sharp inside edge of the case mouth?
That right there should fix the problem.

rc
Tried that too didn't work.

rcmodel
September 6, 2011, 06:24 PM
Well, the only other thing I can think off is.
Years ago, die sets came with both .307" and .308" bullet size expander plugs.
Sierra was still selling .307" 30-30 bullets not too many moons ago. I still have a box or two of them.

One expander plug should measure about .305" and the other about .306".

Maybe you got the small one in your die?

Other then that, maybe you got some over-annealed brass with very soft shoulders and hard necks.

rc

Ruger44mag
September 6, 2011, 06:49 PM
Well, the only other thing I can think off is.
Years ago, die sets came with both .307" and .308" bullet size expander plugs.
Sierra was still selling .307" 30-30 bullets not too many moons ago. I still have a box or two of them.

One expander plug should measure about .305" and the other about .306".

Maybe you got the small one in your die?

Other then that, maybe you got some over-annealed brass with very soft shoulders and hard necks.

rc
Ok thanks I will check it and see if that's the problem.

rcmodel
September 6, 2011, 09:26 PM
My reply to PM today:
I believe Hornady FTX brass is trimmed to a shorter OAL then standard 30-30 brass to make up for the added length of the FTX spitzer bullets.
See this about that:
http://www.hornady.com/assets/files/...30_win_ftx.pdf

Maybe your standard length brass is getting confused in the seating die and getting crimped too soon?

Back off the seater die a 1/4 turn to make sure it isn't trying to crimp before the bullet is fully seated, then re-set the seating stem to the OAL you want.

rc

Strongbad
September 6, 2011, 11:10 PM
Sounds to me like you have the die screwed down too far and the crimping shoulder in the die is crushing the case. That's pretty common. Unscrew the die, then screw the seater plug down further to make up the difference.

ArchAngelCD
September 7, 2011, 04:15 AM
I was about to mention that Hornady recommends a shorter brass trim length for use with their FTX bullets but rc already took care of that, link and all... That there just might be the problem.

Ruger44mag
September 7, 2011, 04:20 AM
Thanks guys! The problem was the shorter brass cases.

If you enjoyed reading about "FTX loading problem." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!