M1A with Cluster Rail Accuracy


PDA






HavelockLEO
September 6, 2011, 09:29 PM
I have a Loaded Standard M1A that I'm contemplating haveing the VLTOR Cluster Rail installed on.

My question is, to those of you that have either a Scout Squad or full sized rifle with the cluster rail on it, what kind of accuracy do you get with it and what should I expect from my rifle if I get it.

Thanks for the help.

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A with Cluster Rail Accuracy" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
VA27
September 6, 2011, 11:04 PM
You should expect your gun to be a boat anchor. The rail systems are heavy and when you actually add stuff to the rails it'll only get heavier.

On the plus side, with a bipod and a good scope it'll be no less accurate than it was and the weight will fight what little recoil there is.

madcratebuilder
September 7, 2011, 08:16 AM
You are adding weight to a already heavy rifle. What do you need to rail space for?

boricua9mm
September 7, 2011, 09:14 AM
Whether or not you will see any accuracy gains will be dependent on the details of your rifle and how you currently shoot it for measuring accuracy. Front band tension plays a crucial role in the accuracy of the M1A/M14, as does consistency of the overall system.

I personally found that a bipod mounted on a Versa Pod Picatinny Rail in conjuntion with a USGI fiberglass stock resulted in too much flex at the front end of the stock. This allowed for inconsistency in the front band tension and accuracy suffered as a result. Taking off the bipod and sandbagging the rifle closer to the magazine well resulted in much tighter, more consistent grouping. The Boyd's walnut stock, on the other hand, did not exhibit the same amount of flex with the bipod.

The VLTOR Rail might allow for more consistent front band pressure when using a bipod, but unless you absolutely need the bipod, flashlight, laser, etc. on your rifle I would stay away from it. Instead, I would invest the money on a Sadlak NM spring guide, Sadlak TiN Gas Piston, and a unitized gas system. This will more than likely yield the accuracy and consistency gains you are looking for.

navajo
September 7, 2011, 12:04 PM
Sacrilege!

HavelockLEO
September 7, 2011, 08:08 PM
Sacrilege!

I didnt say I had it installed, I said I was contemplating it..........

boricua9mm,
I've already added all the Sadlak parts you mentioned, the unitized gas cylinder will be next..............

madcratebuilder and VA27 I know about the weight penalty, and the rail space wont be for lazers, lights and other non essentials. I just want it for where it'll put the scope and possibly a bi-pod. But like I said, I'm contemplating the addition I havent spent any money yet

boricua9mm
September 8, 2011, 08:32 AM
In that case I wouldn't bother with the full rail system. I think you'll find that you'll use the bipod simply because you put it on, and not because it offers a superior means of supporting the rifle. In my experience, I've always had better results using sandbags.

I would simply get a Sadlak, SEI or Bassett mount and be done with it. The VLTOR system is a pretty big weight penalty just to mount a bipod. If you want the aesthetics and this rifle will become strictly a range rifle, then that may not matter to you.

henschman
September 8, 2011, 02:07 PM
Another issue is that the cluster rail is too high to co-witness an Aimpoint with the irons, like you can with an Ultimak mount.

I agree, it is too heavy. I am personally going to just add a section of rail to the left side of the handguard on my factory stock for a light and front sling swivel.

If you enjoyed reading about "M1A with Cluster Rail Accuracy" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!