New to reloading....please advise.

PDA

Mr.454
September 9, 2011, 12:55 AM
So I'm new to reloading just got my Lee Breach Lock Challenger Kit. Which includes the hand auto prime, perfect powder measure, powder scale, trimmer, and some other random goodness. So what else other than dies, and a tumbler should I have? A digital scale? Any advice would be great especially from people who have experience with Lee single presses.

If you enjoyed reading about "New to reloading....please advise." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
gamestalker
September 9, 2011, 01:06 AM
Get a dial caliper! I got mine at Harbor Frieght for like $10. They are pretty decent, stainless steel and mine is just as accirate as the $80 one I bought 25 years ago.
And welcome to The High Road! Now that your going to be making your own there will be no looking back and the possibilities ahead are endless. Just think, you can make your own custom ammunition that will be capable of so much more in performance than anything off the shelf. In this respect, my constant goal and approach, is loading ammunition that blows factory away. I've been at it for a little over 30 yrs. and haven't dabbled in plinking stuff, only the best gets me excited. Jacketed ammunition is more expensive to reload, but in comparison to factory, it's still less than half the cost, even for my high powered rifle cartridges and magum hangun loads.

JustSomeGuyinCA
September 9, 2011, 01:17 AM
I'm of the opinion that load manuals are an important tool not to be overlooked. Calipers are definitely on the list, like gamestalker said. Maybe an inertia puller for those mistakes you don't seem to see till after they've been made.

osprey176
September 9, 2011, 01:46 AM