six-Guns

PDA

Bobson
September 14, 2011, 02:51 AM
Hey guys. As I said before, I have very little experience with revolvers. Basically limited to holding them in gun shops. Recently I've been looking at options for a hunting sidearm, and it occurred to me that I've always had an interest in old school six-guns. The Ruger Vaquero in particular has caught my eye.

Are these guns user friendly, or are they better suited to someone with a lot of experience with revolvers? Also, would it be impractical to carry one as a sidearm while hunting? I've always assumed the handle style (very L-shaped compared to modern handguns) would result in a fairly uncomfortable gun to shoot. Is that an accurate perception?

Thanks a lot guys, sorry for the noob questions.

If you enjoyed reading about "six-Guns" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
9mmepiphany
September 14, 2011, 03:13 AM
The Colt SAA Plow Handle , that the grip of the Blackhawk is patterned after is actually very comfortable to shoot. But it is based on a different recoil management concept.

The Plow Handle is designed to roll (back) into your hand in recoil as opposed to the DA grip which stops this with the recoil shoulder

Lucky Derby
September 14, 2011, 03:48 AM
They are simple, especially the New Model Rugers, which the Vaquero is. Like 9mm said, the grip rolls in your hand. Best to use smooth non-checkered wood or other smooth material. I can shoot my Blackhawk all day long with hot .357s. In any of my DA revolvers, I tire quickly of it and switch to light .38s.

DWFan
September 14, 2011, 03:48 AM
If you like Rugers, the Blackhawk is a better option than the Vaquero as a hunting revolver. The similar, but not exactly same, Magnum Research BFR comes in more powerful caliber options. Freedom Arms is the ultimate but expensive.

Bobson
September 14, 2011, 03:57 AM