Lookin' for a project

PDA

GuidoTorpedo
September 14, 2011, 09:22 PM
I've got the hobby bug and I'm looking for a project. I have zero gunsmithing experience but I wanted to give it a shot.

I'm not looking to do anything drastic. I would like to purchase something inexpensive and preferably with a rough finish. Though I want the parts to be in good mechanical order.

I basically want to have an inexpensive pistol. Completely disassemble it refinish it, and maybe add some non-stock parts.

My gut instinct is to get a CZ82 but am turned off by the fact that even though the examples are getting rougher, the price seems to stay the same if not go up. I like the fact that they seem pretty easy to disassemble and that Mepro makes night sights for it. Also that you can get nice wood grips for it.

Anything else I should be looking into? Revolvers are NOT excluded but from what I understand, they are typically hand fitted from the factory so that may be out of my league if thats required.

Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Lookin' for a project" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
spelsh
September 14, 2011, 09:35 PM
1911?

MICHAEL T
September 15, 2011, 12:48 AM
If you want to try a 1911 Buy a worn out Llama, Full size or Commander size. The insides are same as 1911 so you can ruin one of those a lot cheaper. And gather some 1911 experience .

WinThePennant
September 15, 2011, 01:09 AM
I started a thread on this a few days ago.

But a brand spanking new Glock lower, and install after-market parts. You'll have a 100% customized Glock. There are all kinds of options available for Glocks.

OARNGESI
September 15, 2011, 09:33 PM
Id suggest a sks or ruger 10/22 both guns are easy to work with fairly cheap many simple available bods and enjoyable and cheap to shoot when done

Exeter
September 15, 2011, 10:07 PM