Hornady lnl - which station for the Dillon powder check addn?


PDA






nojoke
September 28, 2011, 12:03 PM
So, I'm not thrilled about drilling into the lnl for the powder check arm, but it's something I'd like to have.

For those who have done it - or those "in the know" - what station?

Station 3? Is there really another option?

I'm running a case feeder and a bullet feeder.

Just want to double check here first before pulling out the drill. :eek::uhoh::what:

If you enjoyed reading about "Hornady lnl - which station for the Dillon powder check addn?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DCoke
September 28, 2011, 05:26 PM
Why not just use the Hornady powder cop die immediately after your powder drop? If you really want to use the Dillon powder check then you might want to check on some other forum entries on the same topic at the following link... http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=324997

Shmackey
September 28, 2011, 05:36 PM
Why not just use the Hornady powder cop die immediately after your powder drop?

The RCBS Lockout die fits in a normal station and does not require you to stare at it. I resisted for a long time but finally tried it--and I won't load without it now.

357Shooter
September 28, 2011, 07:01 PM
Rcbs lockout...
Do-it!

ImjinScout
September 28, 2011, 07:13 PM
I agree, the RCBS lockout die is the way to go, much better than the powder cop, and if you forget to look it will stop the press for ya,

nojoke
September 28, 2011, 08:31 PM
How accurate is that die? What's the +/- ?
Is it more accurate than the dillon powder check?

I was thinking the little buzzer would be cool, but the RCBS has the benefit of not needing a drill for installation. :cool:

hAkron
September 28, 2011, 08:51 PM
I have the lockout die. Only been using the LnL a short while and just recently got the RCBS lockout. I think it's a must have with this press. I've double charged a number of cases trying to clear one jam or another and the lockout caught it before I did. No need for a buzzer since the press won't index if there is too much or too little powder. It has an adjustable 'foot' that raises into the die body when you pull the press handle. If the foot doesn't hit the powder before the case mouth hits the bottom of the die then it stops the case from going up into the die which stops the press. If the foot hits the powder too soon (over charge) then the same thing happens. If the foot hits the powder at the right time then it unlocks the part of the die that allows the case mouth to enter and the press stroke completes. It's pretty easy to adjust when changing calibers or powders. It's not going to tell you if you are .1 grain off or anything like that, but you don't have to watch it like a powder cop or listen for a buzzer.

redbullitt
September 28, 2011, 08:54 PM
I have the powder cop myself and have done just fine with it fwiw.

I will say that the lockout seems very nice as well. I probably would have bought one if I didnt have the powder cop already.

ImjinScout
September 29, 2011, 12:48 AM
The lockout die is for double charge or no charge, from what I experimented with. I also wanted to know how accurate it was and decided to add a little bit of powder to a correct charged case, and see when it would stop the case, first I added .5gr over and it still cycled the press, next was 1gr over and same thing, last tried 2gr. over and press still cycled. That is where I stopped, and came to my conclusion.

I'm sure most powder drops would not be that far off on a single charge, so it does what I want and will catch a no charge or double charge.

BYJO4
September 29, 2011, 01:29 AM
I have a separate Lock Out die set up for each of the 8 pistol calibers I load for. I've experimented with all of them by deleting or adding powder in a case until they locked up my press. Basically, if the powder charge is plus or minus 2 grains from correct amount, the die locks up. I would not use my LNL Ap (or any other progressive press) without them.

Joemyxplyx
September 29, 2011, 10:35 AM
I've got a LnL with a Dillon Powder check. I put it in station 3.

I don't understand why you would want to use another station. Station 2 drops the powder and Station 4 seats the bullet. So you pretty much have to use station 3 unless I'm not understanding something.

REL1203
September 29, 2011, 01:14 PM
I love the LNL AP, and i 100% will not reload without my RCBS Lockout Die... Put it in station 3 and call it a day, it has saved me twice now..

If you enjoyed reading about "Hornady lnl - which station for the Dillon powder check addn?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!