Ready to reload .44 mag. Suggestions?

PDA

ricebasher302
September 28, 2011, 11:21 PM
I'm pretty new to reloading and am starting with the .44 mag. The gun is a S&W Perf. Center 629 with a 2 5/8" barrel. Obviously I don't expect to propel anything too quickly out of that short of barrel, but I've got a batch of Magtech 240 gr. JSP's and a can of H110. I'm happy to shoot full power loads through the gun, and while it's very lively, I'm not too recoil sensitive. I'd like to maximize performance out of that barrel without burning unnecessarily large amounts of powder or stressing the gun.

Any tips before I get started? Favorite loads? Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ready to reload .44 mag. Suggestions?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Snowbandit
September 28, 2011, 11:47 PM
Were I you I would put those bullets and powder aside for a while. Get some much cheaper 240 grain lead semi-wadcutters and 2400 (or even Unique) powder. That H-110 is great for max loads in longer barrels but is going to turn that snub into a fire-breathing dragon with blast to match. Save a few bucks and get proficient making quality ammo with the SWC bullets. That H-110 has to be loaded fairly hot to be safe and isn't the best choice for a novice to be fooling with.

Asherdan
September 28, 2011, 11:50 PM
I've had good success with that bullet, accuracy wise, so I think you're fine for starting off there. With that short a barrel I might consider a mid-rate pistol powder instead of the slow burning stuff. Honestly, I'd start with something in Unique's range, but I might be full of it there.

CraigC
September 28, 2011, 11:55 PM