Major issues w/ new Ruger SR 1911

PDA

Johnny Lightning
October 1, 2011, 09:15 PM
My friend just got into shooting and purchased his second pistol an SR 1911 by Ruger. The gun looks great and seems to have a great slide to frame fit along w/ bushing to barrel fit but the good things seem to end there. We loaded up the factory 8rnd mag and started to shoot. The first round just about hit the bullseye at 15yrds then the second round was just low of the bullseye in the 9 ring then we had our first failure to eject. I cleared out the FTE and loaded the next round and had another failure to eject and then another....not good. I have a Wilson combat mag for my Springfield Loaded so we tired that and same scenario...FTE after FTE. Along w/ the FTE's I had a couple of issues w/ getting the Ruger into battery and had to use a good bit of force on the rear of the slide to return to battery. After about 20 rounds of Winchester white box we gave up and shot our Glocks...not an issue w/ either glocks :p Back to the Ruger...I also noticed the trigger was very loose and jiggled about where the trigger on my springer is not nearly that loose. My friend is going to call Ruger on Monday and send it back for the FTE and trigger issues. Any one else having any issues w/ their new SR 1911?

If you enjoyed reading about "Major issues w/ new Ruger SR 1911" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
eam3clm@att.net
October 1, 2011, 10:50 PM
I have not heard of any issues with the ruger but I dont have one. All of the reviews that I have read on the ruger indicated that it is a really nice 1911, granted most said somthing like I got my new 1911 and put 100 rounds through it flawlessly.

Johnny Lightning
October 2, 2011, 08:42 AM