Do you vary load for barrel lengths?


PDA






bds
October 8, 2011, 03:21 PM
Gearing up for another reloading session and wondered. Do you vary the powder charge for different length barreled pistols?

I load for both full size and sub compact pistols in 9mm, 40S&W and 45ACP and find that I need to tailor the loads to reliably cycle the stiffer recoil spring sets in the subcompacts as full size pistols will reliably cycle lower powder charges.

If I was just loading for full size pistols, I would be fine with start-to-mid range load data for target loads. For subcompacts, I need to use mid-to-high range load data.

If you enjoyed reading about "Do you vary load for barrel lengths?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Walkalong
October 8, 2011, 03:56 PM
Everything I load will cycle everything I have.

rcmodel
October 8, 2011, 05:18 PM
Same here.

But I don't load starting loads in mass quanities.

All my standard loads pretty much duplicate factory loads near as I can get them.

rc

cfullgraf
October 8, 2011, 05:53 PM
I used to have a sub compact 40 S&W pistol that would break after a time when shooting factory level ammunition. Recoil would bend the take down pin to the point it could not be removed.

I would load rounds for it less powerful than my full size 40 S&W in hopes of not destroying the sub compact.

gamestalker
October 8, 2011, 08:16 PM
I'm sure some tailor the loads to the barrel, I don't. I load for SC and full framed pistols with the same load, which for me would be a full house load. I've never broke a gun of any shape, size, or caliber as yet.

mnhntr
October 9, 2011, 03:59 PM
never had that issue

If you enjoyed reading about "Do you vary load for barrel lengths?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!