Ruger GP-100 sights, springs?

PDA

Josh45
October 11, 2011, 05:22 PM
Curious about something for the GP-100....

The double action in it is kinda heavy for me. I been reading up and down about it and I believe it's rated at 12 LBS? From factory of course, I have no idea about mine since I have not tested it and bought used.

I know changing the springs to a lighter pull would be good but to light would cause misfires. I do reload and I do use CCI primers.

My question for the double action is, Whats the lowest LBs I can go to without a misfire? Wolffs has them rated at 8 and 10 I believe.

This is a fixed sight version. No actual rear sight.....Im still a newbie to revolvers but I have been trying to find replacement sights for it and have almost came up with nothing! Anyone know what sights I would be able to use if I wanted to change them?

It is accurate but I would like to have the option to change it should the need arise. I do not carry it with me at this time but would like to in the near future.

So, Any suggestions?

If you enjoyed reading about "Ruger GP-100 sights, springs?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Super Sneaky Steve
October 11, 2011, 06:07 PM
Spend $50 on a trigger job at your local gunsmith. It will be lighter and smoother without light strikes.

Old Fuff
October 11, 2011, 06:12 PM
In the Ruger GP-100 the hammer hits the transfer bar safety, which in turn hits the firing pin, which hits the primer. After each "which" some energy is lost - so be careful about switching springs, especially if the revolver might be used as a personal weapon.

I believe the front sight is pined, and therefore can be changed. There isn't much you can do about the rear one, and if this is an important issue you'd be best off to sell or trade the one you have for a GP-100 with adjustable sights.

Josh45
October 11, 2011, 07:59 PM