G17 Barrel Damage?

PDA

Averageman
October 22, 2011, 06:53 PM
I was shopping for a G17 and found a used one locally and as I inspected it I discovered a peculiar flaw on the muzzle.
A near half circle of damge around the lower half of the muzzle nearly a complete half circle. The damage was not exactly concentric and varied in its angle toward the muzzle.
I'm rather new to Glocks but I thought I had seen nearly every way to damage a pistol barrel during my time in the military.
When I pointed this out to the Dealer he was surprised and pulled it from the display and said he was going to call Glock in the morning.
When I asked him the cause of such damage he said he suspected +P+ ammo or very hot handloads, but this doiesn't make sense to me....any ideas folks?
Thanks
A/M

If you enjoyed reading about "G17 Barrel Damage?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ku4hx
October 22, 2011, 07:06 PM
I'd suspect damage from being dropped or some other mechanical mistreatment. But a blow sufficient to do that kind of muzzle damage likely did other damage too. Of course the barrel could have been damaged outside the gun.

You can get a replacement Glock barrel for about $150 so you can do the math and determine if this is a good buy. At some point you're going to reach the point of diminishing returns where the cost of a the refurbished used piece is not significantly different from that of a new one or a used one in much better shape.

Averageman
October 22, 2011, 07:35 PM
I was doing the Math in my head as I looked at it and the price with a discount was under by $200 on a new G17 gen 3.
I got the NIB pistol of course, essentially the guy is in the market to make a profit and I actually think he makes more from the used guns he sells than the new.