Magnum Flinch under pressure.

PDA

CharlesT
November 1, 2011, 03:46 PM
I have a somewhat embarrassing problem...

When shooting a .44 magnum I don't usually flinch. But when I am being watched I do, badly.

I would eventually like to compete. (I'm 20) And this is something I need to nip in the bud if I ever dream of wining anything.

I don't always shoot around people. Most of the time I'm with my father or alone.

So how can I work to eliminate this annoying little foible?:banghead:

If you enjoyed reading about "Magnum Flinch under pressure." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
BCRider
November 1, 2011, 04:00 PM
Ask the RO with the timer to look away? :D

I really can't see any help for you other than to just focus on the sights, the target and your trigger pull. Make those three things the sum total of your little world of the moment to such an extent that the concept of anyone watching is just too remote to even be a spot on the horizon.

The fact that you are worried about it suggests to me that you also worry too much about what others think in other facets of your life. We all need to be considerate of others so that we can all get along. But at the same time we need to be secure with our own abilities at whatever level they are at. So just go and shoot and to hell with how you think they feel about your scores. You're there for YOU to have fun and become better. Not to worry about what they think of your shooting.

Sorry for the "Dear Abby" content but it just seems to me that such a feeling is something that transcends simply having issues with shooting around others. But work on fixing one and it'll help the other and vice versa.

MrBorland
November 1, 2011, 04:17 PM
I really can't see any help for you other than to just focus on the sights, the target and your trigger pull.