CCW Pistol advice

PDA

davers
November 4, 2011, 08:29 AM
Hey gang! I've been working in Downtown Detroit for almost 2 years now, and I've finally had the wool removed from over my eyes! I work almost right smack dab in the center of the City, and someone mentioned that a person was stabbed out front of one of our buildings! This happened at 3:45 PM...roughly 15 minutes before I get off work. In researching this a bit to see if it were true, I found this depressing site! Crime Mapping (http://www.crimemapping.com/map.aspx?aid=0c6c72dd-7122-4509-b897-17f60e517d9d)

It turns out there is a LOT more happening than we were led to believe down here! Especially given the fact that the Detroit PD doesn't include homicides on that map. When asked, they said they didn't want to endanger any ongoing homicide investigations... :scrutiny: Not sure if I really believe that's the reason..

Anyway, I recently purchased a Beretta storm .45 for range use, which I reload for, but I personally think it's too thick, heavy etc for CCW. I'd like some recommendations that don't include Glock. (sorry, personal bias) No revolvers. Also, try to keep it under $1000 if possible. I'd prefer .45, but I'm open to most calibers. I carried both the 45 and 9MM in the service...so I've been brainwashed into liking them both. ;)

Thanks for any suggestions!!

Dave

If you enjoyed reading about "CCW Pistol advice" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
lobo9er
November 4, 2011, 08:38 AM
from my experience start with a 380 pocket pistol and work your way up. I started with a 357 snubnose for carry and wasnt able to carry it ALL the time. With a 380 its always on you. And after you pick up a bigger carry gun you will be so used to the 380 you will carry it with your new piece, it becomes like making sure you leave the house with your cell phone or wallet. just my rant

harmon rabb
November 4, 2011, 08:50 AM