NewB reloading questions

PDA

CMV
December 18, 2011, 04:35 PM
Hi everyone. Google searches for questions kept turning up threads here, so I figured I'd join & go straight to the source. I've been shooting for 25+ years but just started reloading.

You probably get 100 questions a week like these so I appreciate your help and patience with a novice like me.

I'm reloading .223. I have a Lee classic turret press, Lee Dies, & assorted other tools (mostly Lee).

I'm not a hunter or competitive shooter. I'm reloading general target/plinking/training ammo. I have 2 AR's - one 16", one 20", both 1:9, and the rounds I load will come from/go into both. But I do want accurate & consistent ammo. I primarily shoot Fed XM193 & IMI 193. I want to load something similar but probably not as hot unless it has to be. My goal is to not have to change sights for ammo - I want a round of what I load to hit a target at the same place the XM193 or IMI will. I don't expect to put 3 rounds into the same hole at 100M with M193 (not that I'm that good anyway) and I don't expect what I make to do it either. I do expect it to group in a reasonably tight circle though, all at point of aim.

I have 1,000 Hornady 55 gr FMJBT on the way. I have on hand 1,000 CCI #41 primers, 4 lb H335 powder, & 1,000 rds "1x fired LC brass". That should be enough to load 1,000 rds minus anything I screw up or brass that gets rejected.