Loading 45ACP for a GLOCK??

PDA

zhd
December 26, 2011, 10:30 PM
I recently got a GLOCK 21 Gen 4...it would not cycle my handloads. I have loaded them very light for a 1911 and they worked flawlesly in the 1911 but will not cycle in the Glock. Here is my load breakdown: Powder - Win 231, Primer - CCI 300, Bullet - Rainier 185 gr. I loaded this with 5.1 grains of powder. Where do I need to be at on my grains of powder for the Glock to cycle? What are factory loads set at? I am new to reloading and have only been at it for about 2 months so any tips on correcting this would be helpful thanks guys.

If you enjoyed reading about "Loading 45ACP for a GLOCK??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Ridgerunner665
December 26, 2011, 10:35 PM
5.2 might do it...5.3 should get it if not.

Deavis
December 26, 2011, 10:37 PM
You need to be wherever your Glock cycles as long as it is under the maximum charge according to the reloading manual you are using. What does your reloading manual suggest for a 185gr bullets?

Hodgdon shows the jacketd SWC as 5.0 to 5.9 grains. I believe you typically use lead data for plated, which is a tad different. Try bumping it up 0.3gr and seeing if that cycles it. If you want to run 5.1gr, you may need a lighter recoil spring and make sure your gun is properly cleaned/lubricated.

zhd
December 26, 2011, 10:43 PM
Thanks I will try to bump it up slowly. I have also thought about the lighter spring but I want to find the right number that cycles on the factory spring first. Thanks.

PlusP
December 26, 2011, 10:51 PM
is it a 185g swc ??? my 21 has problems feeding them and the 1911 will feed them fine .... I'd try 5.5g of 231 with a 185g rn plated bullet for a 21 ... I think you will find a g21 takes more effort to rack the slide than a 1911 does ...

Drail
December 26, 2011, 10:54 PM