Which AR should I get based on the following

PDA

Skribs
December 27, 2011, 05:06 PM
I am looking at getting an AR in the near-ish future. Previously I had looked at some of the more expensive ones out there, but I have changed my mind somewhat on what is important to me. Now, I am coming from the perspective of someone who owns multiple handguns and a single shotgun, so I have very little experience with rifles in general, and not sure exactly what is a need vs. a luxury for my specific purposes.

Specifically, I want an AR for a combination of HD and non-competition target shooting (for fun and practice). My specific requirements that I want are:

1. It has to be all black. Not because itís the ďBlack RifleĒ but because all my guns are black. Itís my favorite color.

2. Reliable enough to trust my life with.

3. 5.56mm NATO. I know the merits of other calibers, and Iíve debated it in the past. I specifically want to start with 5.56 for ammo availability over 6.8 and recoil compared with 7.62.

4. 100 MOA accuracy or better. Seriously Ė if I can hit a dinner plate at 10 yards, itíll do. I know I can expect significantly better than this, though. Iím just not looking for a target rifle. I donít expect to need it even at 5 yards.

5. Full bottom rail, full top rail (preferably uninterrupted), and at least half side rails (preferably full).

6. Ambidextrous controls (safety, magazine release) are preferred, but not required.

7. Forward assist and dust cover are both NOT required. But Iím not opposed, either.

8. Telescoping stock.

Beyond that, Iím not sure what twist rate I should get, or what parts I should consider chrome lining to be required vs. superfluous, so any advice would be helpful.

Can anyone give me any advice on which AR would fit my needs for the least amount of money?