Deer hunting with 303


PDA






303 hunter
December 30, 2011, 10:46 PM
Has anyone had any experience deer hunting with 303 British? If so, what loads did you use? I have bought some PPU 150 grain ammo - need feedback?

If you enjoyed reading about "Deer hunting with 303" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
alemonkey
December 30, 2011, 10:49 PM
I've shot deer with the 150 grain PPU load. Killed them just as dead as pretty much any other caliber I've used. Prvi is good quality ammo.

dprice3844444
December 30, 2011, 10:51 PM
303 british has been killing things for over a century

BrocLuno
December 30, 2011, 10:52 PM
You have the right stuff. 150 Prvi is a good round for deer :)

foghornl
December 30, 2011, 11:16 PM
Ex brother-in-law uses a .303 for deer. I think he uses the Prvi ammo, too, and has put several bambis in the freezer. at least 2 a year

303tom
December 31, 2011, 12:06 AM
Every year..............

nathan
December 31, 2011, 12:24 AM
Its a nice cartridge with very manageable recoil. I ve shot my last hog with the Priv Partizan 180 gr SP from my No 4 rifle. It fell like it should.

CmdrSlander
December 31, 2011, 12:34 AM
Very nice rifle. Is that No. 4? What kind of accuracy do you get at 100 yards?

krankieone
December 31, 2011, 08:16 AM
150 or 180 grain would be find for deer

303tom nice stock what brand is it?

Steve H
December 31, 2011, 08:31 AM
First deer I ever killed was in 1960 using a 303........but I sure can't remember what the bullet was.

wnycollector
December 31, 2011, 08:45 AM
My father-in-law has hunted with a .303 since the early 1960's. Many deer have fallen to his .303. He is currently using Prvi SP's.

303tom
December 31, 2011, 09:04 AM
Very nice rifle. Is that No. 4? What kind of accuracy do you get at 100 yards?
Yep, & it is a Savage. Accuracy, MOA I have no idea, but with that scope I can hit a gal. milk jug at a half mile, here is what it looked like when I found it at a yard sale for 15 bucks.

atticor
December 31, 2011, 10:01 AM
My first deer was a white tail in central Texas. I borrowed a friend's 303, and it was a 1 shot kill. Fortunately, we had gone to the range and scoped in the rifle at about the exact range the deer was taken. I just used some off-the-shelf Remington soft-point ammo, don't remember the load. :)

Hummer70
December 31, 2011, 10:08 AM
You can actually reload 308 bullets in 303 brass. Your accuracy will open up a bit but I don't suspect you will see a significant difference. but you never know till you try it.

I have reloaded PRIVI multiple times and it is nice brass. Stress relieve the necks and don't FL size it if you don't have to. 303 Brit chambers are huge and if you have a 308 die just necksize it and it will last much longer.

303tom
December 31, 2011, 11:56 AM
You can actually reload 308 bullets in 303 brass. Your accuracy will open up a bit but I don't suspect you will see a significant difference. but you never know till you try it.

I have reloaded PRIVI multiple times and it is nice brass. Stress relieve the necks and don't FL size it if you don't have to. 303 Brit chambers are huge and if you have a 308 die just necksize it and it will last much longer.
Your accuracy will open up a bit, that is a under statement & I would not recommend it.

Screamin'Eagle
December 31, 2011, 12:35 PM
You can actually reload 308 bullets in 303 brass. Your accuracy will open up a bit but I don't suspect you will see a significant difference. but you never know till you try it.

I have reloaded PRIVI multiple times and it is nice brass. Stress relieve the necks and don't FL size it if you don't have to. 303 Brit chambers are huge and if you have a 308 die just necksize it and it will last much longer.

Yes, you can, but why would you want to do that? The bullet is going to bounce unpredictably in the barrel instead of spinning. If you have the equipment and supplies to reload, it's not that big of a cost to buy the correct .311 bullets and a set of .303 dies.

Iramo94
December 31, 2011, 01:25 PM
Not to hijack, but would it be possible to slap a .308 barrel with a .303 Brit chamber onto a .303 action? The cost of reloading would probably catch up to the barrel's price in a few thousand rounds.

303tom
December 31, 2011, 05:10 PM
Not to hijack, but would it be possible to slap a .308 barrel with a .303 Brit chamber onto a .303 action? The cost of reloading would probably catch up to the barrel's price in a few thousand rounds.
Why do that when you could just get one of these, it`s a Enfield 2A 7.62 NATO.....

MATT .45-70
December 31, 2011, 05:56 PM
you should never load .308 bullets in a .303 there is a big difference in diameter.

.308 is .308" diameter

.303 is .312" diameter

they are not interchangeable at all

in addition sometimes .312" diameter bullets are cheaper than .308" diameter

BrocLuno
December 31, 2011, 10:28 PM
What he said :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Deer hunting with 303" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!