Thoughts on FC .223 brass.

PDA

kainronin
December 31, 2011, 11:45 PM
I am still fairly new to rifle reloading. I am liking WCC brass for my .223 reloads. They are firing just fine with no problems. I have a bunch of free FC brass that I am weary of reloading. I have heard of many problems with this sort of brass. Should I even waste my time with it?

If you enjoyed reading about "Thoughts on FC .223 brass." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ArchAngelCD
December 31, 2011, 11:48 PM
I have used and still use FC (Federal) brass and have had no problems with it. some of the FC brass will have crimped primer pockets but once that's addressed they load up just fine. some of my best groups in a 223 bolt action rifle have come while using FC brass in the reloads.

T Bran
December 31, 2011, 11:59 PM
I seperate by headstamp and also have a bunch of FC cases that are in the rotation cant tell the difference once the crimp is gone.
T

kainronin
January 1, 2012, 12:29 AM
I have resized,deprimed,trimmed,sonic cleaned, and polished all of it. I am just wondering if I should sell it, or possibly reload it. I heard its not too strong of a case for good loads.

Eazmo
January 1, 2012, 12:38 AM
I would not load them!!!!!!!! terrible things may become you

I am a card carrying member of the Brass Police.
send them to me for proper disposal.
It's the only safe option for you:D

beatledog7
January 1, 2012, 12:40 AM
I heard its not too strong of a case for good loads.

I heard Elvis has just been spotted having a beer with Paul McCartney's ghost...

Load some, shoot it, decide.

jmstevens2
January 1, 2012, 12:42 AM
Start low and work up. See what you think.

capreppy
January 1, 2012, 12:50 AM
I load them and they shoot just fine. I've got nearly 1k so I separate them for long distances.

Hondo 60
January 1, 2012, 01:25 AM
I love 'em, cuz I don't have to trim once-fired.
They caliper to 1.750

oldreloader