Winchester, Remington, Savage, Weatherby, Sako, or CZ bolt actions?

PDA

Mitchell Gard
January 1, 2012, 06:46 PM
Now I know this comes across as an extremely broad subject, and it is. I'm relatively new to the bolt action rifle world an have been religiously researching and browsing rifles. I intend to buy a new bolt action in the near future but I've been feeling a bit overwhelmed with the seemingly infinite choices. I'll be purchasing a rifle to hunt for white-tail deer primarily, but I don't necessarily want to be tied down to just that. Most shots would most likely be taken at 100-200 yards with optics. But as many know, things can change in any number of ways and I also enjoy range shooting. I'm leaning towards .270 win or .30-06. I also don't want to spend over 2000 on the rifle itself (scope excluded). Back to the topic at hand. How does one decide between the numerous makes available? What kind of experience do you guys have with these popular companies? And lastly, if you own one, what are your thoughts?

If you enjoyed reading about "Winchester, Remington, Savage, Weatherby, Sako, or CZ bolt actions?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
CB900F
January 1, 2012, 06:53 PM
Mitchel;

Handle a lot of them, only consider buying what feels good to you. Does it come up to the shoulder & give you a good cheek weld at the same time?

My personal choices, which certainly may not be yours, are either Tikka or CZ. I have multiple examples of each, but in the left handed configuration. Another caliber that I'd urge you to take a look at, particularly in the circumstances you've outlined, is the 6.5 X 55mm Swede. Outstanding accuracy & the ability to kill far better than the bore diameter would lead you to believe. Either brand should be easily available in your budget range.

900F

Mitchell Gard
January 1, 2012, 07:08 PM