Am i doing something wrong with this scope?


PDA






Jericho_223
January 27, 2012, 09:39 PM
A family friend gave me a brand new scope a couple weeks ago. Problem is, it won't fit on the picatinny rail i have. Seems like the scope rings are just a tad too close together. It seems like it would be easily adjustable if i had the right sized allen wrench (i don't), but is that a common thing? or am i just doing something wrong here? Sorry if this is an overly noobish question, but i'm pretty new to this sort of thing...

If you enjoyed reading about "Am i doing something wrong with this scope?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
briansmithwins
January 27, 2012, 09:59 PM
You normally remove the rings from the scope, install the rings on the rifle, then install the scope in the rings.

BSW.

Geno
January 27, 2012, 10:32 PM
Did he remove the scope from a Weaver rail? I've seen that happen. As the previous post said, remove the rings and mount them on your rail. Then, mount seat the scope into the rings, level it and tighten.

Geno

Jericho_223
January 27, 2012, 10:54 PM
Thanks to the both of you! I never thought of mounting the rings first... As far as I know, he never mounted the scope on anything, it was brand new and he just never had a use for it. Is it possible that it came from the factory with the rings spaced for a weaver rail?

Geno
January 27, 2012, 11:09 PM
When it comes time to level your crosshairs, check the distance between the scope's flat bottom, and the top of the rail. Insert feeler gauges of that amount between the scope and rails. Tighten both sides slowly. When done, gently remove the feeler gauges. You will have a flawlessly level scope. :D And be sure to have clean dry screws, with a dab of Loc-Tite so it doesn't all wiggle loose. I suggest you invest in an inexpensive torque wrench that measures finger pounds I believe that most of the rings screws call for 15 finger pounds. PLEASE confirm that amount before torquing. I also use feel gauges on each side of the rings to assure that they are level as well, so things don't shift later. Yeah, I have like 4 sets of feeler gauges. :)

Geno

helotaxi
January 27, 2012, 11:33 PM
You might have rimfire rings. They go on a narrower rail compared to Weaver or 1913 (which are the same width with the same angles only differing in the cross-slots).

jhnrckr
January 27, 2012, 11:39 PM
make sure the little dial with the L and R adjustments is on the right side and the little dial with the Up and Down is on the top when you remount it.

NeuseRvrRat
January 27, 2012, 11:54 PM
most likely 3/8" tip-off rings for airguns/rimfire, especially if the scope came with the rings.

thump_rrr
January 28, 2012, 06:52 AM
Is the scope base too narrow or is it just that the fore/aft distance between the 2 rings doesn't allow both rings to drop into the rail slots?

Jericho_223
January 28, 2012, 10:25 AM
Is the scope base too narrow or is it just that the fore/aft distance between the 2 rings doesn't allow both rings to drop into the rail slots?

the distance between the rings is just a tad too close, so they can't both in in the rail slots

Art Eatman
January 28, 2012, 10:40 AM
Ace or TruValue hardware stores will have the correct Allen wrench. Buy two. You'll likely forget where you put it if you only buy one. :D

Loosen the rings. Slide (gently, slowly, don't scratch the scope) as necessary to fit the rail. Tighten the knurled knob-screws first. Then snug the rings a bit, checking the cross hairs to make sure they're exactly vertical/horizontal. Then tighten the rings, a little at a time, alternating on which screw is tightened. IOW, not all the way tight on just one screw at a time. Tighten until you feel notable resistance, and then go just a *little* bit more. Don't do gorilla-grunt tight.

Oh: When locating the scope in the rings, check for eye relief before tightening the rings. When mounting the rifle with a good cheek weld, you should have around three to four inches between the scope and your eye, and have a clear picture through the scope. If the scope is too close, recoil can give you a "bloused eyebrow" with blood and sometimes stitches.

Murphys Law
January 28, 2012, 05:48 PM
the distance between the rings is just a tad too close, so they can't both in in the rail slots
Sounds like you may need a longer base or an extended ring. What kind of scope and rifle are you trying to match up?

David Clark
January 29, 2012, 06:21 AM
J223 If the scope came with rings they are put on the scope at the factory. They arn't set for anything as they don't know what kind of gun it is going on. Why would you think it should just drop on to your mount?????????? All gun spacing is different. If you don't have a set of allen"s in both Metric and SAE I think it's about time you bought some!!
Dave

If you enjoyed reading about "Am i doing something wrong with this scope?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!