Newbie with reloading questions...

PDA

amadeus76
January 29, 2012, 04:00 PM
So I've been thinking alot about getting into reloading partly cuz it might prove a lil cheaper in the long run but mostly cuz I'd just like to learn how and I was pointed to this forum...

Anyway as I am completely new to this and know no one who loads their own ammo I really have no idea where to start. So for those who know...

1) What do I need to get started as far as equipment and such?

2) How expensive is the initial setup?

3) How difficult is the learning process and what is the best way to go about it?

4) Any advice you can offer?

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Newbie with reloading questions..." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
JimKirk
January 29, 2012, 04:34 PM
Read this link ... it has lots of answers to many of your questions....

http://www.thehighroad.org/showthread.php?t=238214

amadeus76
January 29, 2012, 04:39 PM
Oh damn... I didn't even see that sticky. Thanks!

Lost Sheep
January 29, 2012, 04:42 PM
Welcome to reloading and thanks for asking our advice.

It would be helpful if we knew what your chosen cartridges are and your shooting habits and goals. (Rifle, handgun, revolver/semi-auto, hunting, casual plinking, ultimate accuracy - like 1,000 yard benchrest shooting - etc.)

Aside from eye protection and manuals, you only need three things (physically) to load good ammo.

Press because fingers are not strong enough to form metal
Dies because fingers are not accurate enough to form metal to SAAMI specs
Scale (or calibrated dippers) because eyeballs are not accurate enough to measure out gunpowder

Everything else can be done without, substituted for or improvised until you can afford to buy good quality gear.