Gun oil and teflon (ptfe) ?

PDA

kyron4
February 2, 2012, 06:04 AM
I was in a disscussion about gun oils like Breakfree CLP and Rem Oil that have ptfe in them are not to be used inside the bore. The reasons were they cause flyers or eratick groups for the first 20 shots or so and it cause some kind of "acid" to form and etch the bore. This all seemed odd to me since the military uses Breakfree CLP and has for years. Both products are made to use on guns. Seems people are on one side or the other, best thing or worse thing. Is there any real proof that these oils are 'bad' ? Is this all just internet hogwash ? -Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Gun oil and teflon (ptfe) ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GRIZ22
February 2, 2012, 06:31 AM
I have been using CLP for over 20 years. You really shouldn't leave a lot of any lube in the bore, just a wipe down followed by a dry patch. There is danger of a lot of lube being a bore obstruction. If you leave too much of any lubricant in the bore you will get flyers for the first few shots but I never heard of 20.

If Breakfree destroys a bore all my long guns should have been gone long ago

buckhorn_cortez
February 2, 2012, 07:01 AM
A number of manufacturers state in their owner's manual to not use lubricants containing PTFE (FN Herstal being one of them). I no longer use that type of lubricant (in my case = Rem Oil) because I have found that it gums up in areas where it gets very hot on semi-automatic firearms.

With semi-automatic shotguns that is the gas piston area and inside of the barrel, on semi-automatic pistols that can be the inside of the barrel and areas adjacent to the barrel (barrel link, recoil spring, inside of the barrel bushing, etc.), on semi-automatic rifles like an AR that can be the gas block area, bolt group area on a DI driven rifle.