Marlin 1895 lever popping open

PDA

x_wrench
February 2, 2012, 05:52 PM
i have a guide gun that i have owned about 4 years i guess. 45/70 caliber. i have run some , alright, quite a few pretty warm loads through it. but never had a over pressure situation. i have always stayed within the printed reloading specs. anyway, the problem is the lever started to pop open a while back. i have been shooting it this way for a few months. it never slams open, it just pops slightly open. today, i decided that i had better see if it was me, or if it was the gun itself. i loaded in several trapdoor loads. on the first one, it did not pop open. but the next 4 it did. every time. i put the rifle on my hip, and only inserted my trigger finger into the opening. i wanted to be sure i was not somehow manipulating the lever during recoil. so, what actually keeps this shut, and is this something that i can repair, or do i really need to send it in for repairs? i have never shipped a long gun, but at the cost of shipping a pistol, i can spend $60.00 or better for parts and still be ahead of the game, plus not have to wait weeks or months to get my gun back. i have an exploded view of it, and i am pretty mechanical. i have not yet really torn it down, but i will. i would just like to know exactly what to look for as i inspect the pieces parts. thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Marlin 1895 lever popping open" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
February 2, 2012, 07:43 PM
The first thing I would check is the lever latch pin & spring in the lever.
And it's seat in the lower tang.

Part# 21 & 23.
http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=0/sid=777/schematicsdetail/1895

It might be sticking with dirt & dried oil, or the sporing might be getting weak.

rc

x_wrench
February 2, 2012, 10:06 PM