gunsmithing school

PDA

tcsnake
February 9, 2012, 05:31 PM
hi all, let me first start by saying that i love guns. i have shot just about every gun out there from full auto's in las vegas to a bolt action deer rifle out in the woods.

my question is where can i learn to be a gunsmith, and im not talking about a weekend warrior job, im talking about being the BEST at what i do. to give some scope of my skill level i can now take my 1911 apart into every single piece and put it all back together, not that impressive but its a start. i have no real world experience just a thirst to learn and a desire to listen.

i have saved up around 6k in funds and want to find a school that is prestigious enough within the shooting community to excell me to the top of my career. I need this. i need it for myself and my future.

thank you.

If you enjoyed reading about "gunsmithing school" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Fleet
February 9, 2012, 06:03 PM
A little search on the forum goes a long ways.

dfariswheel
February 9, 2012, 08:21 PM
Here's a list of the available professional schools.
The one's with the best reputation in the industry for turning out stone cold pros are Colorado School of Trades, and Trinidad Junior College. Lassen in Califiornia also has a good rep.
A degree from either will get you a job interview.

These top schools are not cheap. They do take GI and rehab education programs.
If you ever intend to start your own business, have a brain: Take some business courses.

Colorado School of Trades
1575 Hoyt Street
Lakewood, CO 80215
Phone: 800-234-4594

Lassen Community College
P.O. Box 3000
Susanville, CA 96130
Phone: 530-257-4211

Modern Gun School
80 North Main Street, P.O. Box 846
St. Albans, VT 05478
Phone: 800-493-4114

Montgomery Community College
1011 Page Street
P.O. Box 787
Troy, NC 27371
Phone: 800-839-6222

Murray State College
One Murray Campus
Tishomingo, OK 73460