Ring question for high power rifle shooters

PDA

TEC
February 11, 2012, 12:26 AM
I am not new to rifles, but I am new to the particular situation of shooting targets with a scoped .308 rifle (CZ-550 Varmint) with CZ rings and a Weaver Nitrex 6-20X50MM scope. The problem I am having is that the scope creeps forward in the rings after a range session with perhaps 50 rounds or so. Aside from cleaning the rings and scope and checking the torque on the screws that secure the tube, if the scope is still creeping, is there anything else to try short of a new set of rings?

http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn270/tcups/P1140471.jpg

If you enjoyed reading about "Ring question for high power rifle shooters" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
A-FIXER
February 11, 2012, 12:45 AM
After your range session do your ring screws loosen up? It maybe you have the correct torque on them but the rings maybe slightly oversized or have a high spot in them.

Skyshot
February 11, 2012, 08:16 AM
Check that you rings are not competely compressed to gether, if so I would replace the rings. If thats not the case I would retorque and use some loc-tite, you might want to go up a little on the torque. You also might try lapping the rings. The scope on my 209x50 muzzle-loader I just ended up tightning the rings almost farmer tight. I'm not recommending you do that, but it solved that problem with the scope moving under recoil .

wingman
February 11, 2012, 08:26 AM
I've noticed the "creep" problem showing up more and more on boards IMO it's simply poor machined rings,I've transferred most of my rifles to the Burris signature zee rings with inserts, holds the scope firm without marring finish. Second options is lapping the rings many do this as standard procedure.

Geno
February 11, 2012, 02:01 PM
TEC: