Ethical kills?

PDA

beehlebf
February 14, 2012, 06:18 PM
An ethical kill on a game animal would be anything that effectively takes it down with the least amount of suffering. Yet many peoples definition of this seems to change with the animal. Many deer hunters would be horified to here of a head shot kill but if u told them u killed a squirrel they wouldnt thint twice. Shooting gamebirds is just disabling them to be dispatched by the hunter. Any varmint can get a gutshot and i doesnt matter. Why are deer so special to have people argue whether or not a head or neck shot is ok. If a hunter is skilled enough knows his limitations i dont see anyhing wrong with this.

If you enjoyed reading about "Ethical kills?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
caribou
February 14, 2012, 06:53 PM
I hunt for a living. The most Ethical shots ,to me, are blowing out their brains or busting their neck, basicly 'pithing" them, for an instant drop in thier tracks kind of Dead. No running awa across the tundra. I shoot Bears, Muskox, Caribou and all manners of meat in the head. I do this very well and have for most of my adult life. I use an accurate rifle, (open sights) and FMJ's that are very consitant and accurate. I post such shooting here too, you can look them up. If I couldnt place the shot as such, I would simply move to the Heart Lung shot, and Often I do , when lack of concelement on open Tundra wont allow me to get closer and I must secure a sled load of Meat.
The contention most seem to have is that the average Joe doesnt place the shot as well as some do. Newer hunters are encouraged to shoot "heart/lungs" as the target is larger, and if they cannot make a "Great shot" they can at least do a "Good shot" and kill rather than wound the animal.