looking for an effective, reliable solvent

PDA

Virg1L
February 17, 2012, 10:40 PM
I've looked around at a few cleaning threads, but none have quite satisfied me. Therefore, I'm starting my own. If I missed one in my search, please redirect me and I'll delete this one.

I've been using hoppes 9 for a couple years now. At first when I was using to clean brand new guns it worked great. Would take about 5 patches and 15 min to get a clean barrel. However, after 3 years and several thousand rounds later, I'll run 20-30 patches, 4-5 boresnake pulls, and still spend hours on one gun while still have carbon coming out. I use bore brushes, snakes, and took one posters advice and let the hoppes soak for 15-20 min., still can't get it clean. I should make it clear I view my weapons as tools to be used and certainly don't coddle them, but I am worried about premature barrel wear and don't like the idea of carbon building up in my barrel.

I do have some break-free CLP but am hesitant to use it since I'm not entirely familiar with how it works. Do I soak it, do I leave in after cleaning or run a dry patch through then oil it?

Cleaning my weapons used to be relaxing and even enjoyable, but now it has become a long arduous chore I dread every time. If any of you would be so kind to recommend a solvent or convert me to CLP, it would be most appreciated. Thank you in advance.

If you enjoyed reading about "looking for an effective, reliable solvent" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MEHavey
February 17, 2012, 11:16 PM
Get some MPro-7 or KG-1 for powder residue.
They both use chelating agents to lift the carbon
I recommend the KG-1
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/753983/kg-kg-1-carbon-remover-4-oz

I also recommend a bore guide and cleaning from the breech.
That will stop most all barrel wear.