CCW training prices


PDA






telewinz
February 13, 2004, 05:15 AM
Next month my son and I are taking the mandatory CCW training to qualify for our Ohio CCW permit in April. Its a two day, 12 hour class for $100 that provides documentation and range time. How much (if any) did you have to pay for your NRA handgun safety course? The $100 DOES NOT include the permit itself. All the training being posted in Ohio costs $100-125 plus the $50 for the permit at the county office. Since I work at a prison, maybe I can deduct it as an expense.

If you enjoyed reading about "CCW training prices" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Stand_Watie
February 13, 2004, 06:46 AM
About 100 bucks the two times that I took it. I shopped around a bit. Both were in the DFW area.

Dorian
February 13, 2004, 08:17 AM
in NC:

$80 for the training

$100 dollars or the permit

Greybeard
February 13, 2004, 08:20 AM
Unlike some other states, TX does not necessarily recognize NRA courses. The law requires 4 primary topics, only one of which involves actually shooting.

At our private indoor range, the CHL class costs $90 for current members, about $117 for new members. Plus another $140 that must be sent directly to Austin for 4 year license. Renewal classes (for existing members) are $65, with $70 required to Austin for another 4-year license.

For instructors, it's a little more pricey. We must go to Austin every 2 years for $100 8-hour renewal skul, plus pay the same fees to state for 4-year license.

Once you do get license, you might want to look hard at www.packing.org, especially the "License Tool". (I suspect your state may also be slow in getting "reciprocity" iimplemented.) FWIW, for example, the New Hampshire license application is very simple, only costs $20 - and is recognized in Colorado. Florida is now recognizing "proof of training" by other state-certified instructors, their CCW costs $117 for 5 years - and picks up numerous other states.

ny32182
February 13, 2004, 08:39 AM
In SC:

$135 for everything, including the course, permit application, etc... everything.

Of course, that was at the beginning of October, and no permit in sight yet. It should have been here a month and a half ago.

WhoKnowsWho
February 13, 2004, 08:58 AM
$50 for the 2 day course and I think the permit itself was $50, renew in 4 years.

Werewolf
February 13, 2004, 09:48 AM
In OK the training cost is state mandated at $60 and can only be taught by a state certified instructor.

The cost of the license is $100 for five years. You have to pay another $25 for fingerprinting and supply two passport size photos which will run about $8. I'm not gonna count the cost of the 50 rounds you have to fire during the training course.

Total cost for OK=$193 for 5 years. It costs $80 to renew your CCW license for another 5 years and you don't have to go thru all that other BS again.

mrtgbnkr
February 13, 2004, 10:06 AM
There's a place here in Dayton that is charging $300 for a 16 hr class (4 more than the state mandated 12) and the fee includes ammo...of course, if I drive an extra 20 minutes, I can go over to Springfield and take a qualifying class for $125...so I think I'll make the extra drive. The good news is that I've convinced my fairly anti wife to take the class with me and get her permit. She finally listened when I said "just in case, you never have to actually use it"....should be interesting. (note to self: take wife out shooting a couple of times BEFORE the class)

Mark

swingcatt
February 13, 2004, 11:32 AM
I charge $100 for a 12 hour Basic Pistol course or a 9 Hour Personal Protection in VA.

SC

Ala Dan
February 13, 2004, 11:39 AM
Hello!

In Alabama its not required; only requirements are a clean
record, sound mind capeable of "good judgement"
decisions and in Jefferson County $7.50 per year. :uhoh: :D

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

cidirkona
February 13, 2004, 11:46 AM
In Az:

$80 for the 16 hour class which includes a month range pass
$ 8 for fingerprinting
$50 to DPS for the permit
=$138

Every 4 years for renewal:
$40 for the 4 hour class
$25 for the licence renewal

-Colin

PS Best 138 bucks I've spent in a long time though, best 240 I've spent was on my .380 FireStorm

DMK
February 13, 2004, 12:02 PM
in NC:

$80 for the training

$100 dollars or the permit Wow, it must have gone up. I haven't had mine too long and it only cost me $65 for the class, $10 for the fingerprints and $80 for the permit.

DigMe
February 13, 2004, 12:43 PM
Texas:

I paid $65.00 for the mandatory course in Gatesville, TX. That included fingerprinting, photos, paperwork, target/range time and training.

brad cook

The Undertoad
February 13, 2004, 01:11 PM
Swingcatt, where in VA are you? $100 is on the "lower end" of the scale as far as I've been able to find. The cheapest place I found was in Manassas, I believe they wanted $80. I haven't found anywhere yet within an hour drive of me with good prices... :banghead:

swingcatt
February 13, 2004, 02:47 PM
New River Valley, about 5.5 hours out of Manassas. We're about the only option in our parts for any firearms training other than Hunters Safety. So I guess you could say we "are" the average price around here.

SC

The Undertoad
February 13, 2004, 02:53 PM
New River Valley, that's around Blacksburg right? I am about 2.5 miles from Manassas myself, so I'd rather find somewhere local to me! ;)

Erich
February 13, 2004, 02:54 PM
Mine was $75, and it included a copy of the 3rd ed. of The Concealed Handgun Manual . The class was quite a bargain, given the quality of the training provided by the eight instructors. It was given by the Zia Gun Club, and I believe it is a members-only proposition.

$100 for the permit, btw.

12GA
February 13, 2004, 03:10 PM
$30 for the 3 hours Basic Pistol Safety course.

renaissance
February 13, 2004, 03:23 PM
Northern VA. (Fairfax County)

At My Local Gun Club (Gilbert's)

$40
Buys you (all within a single evening)
Two Hours Class
One Hour Supervised Range Time
Use of a rental .38 Spl Revolver
One Box (50 Rounds) of ammo
Eye and Ear Protection

At the completion of which you get
a certificate.

Which, when accompanied with $50
Will get you a Five Year Concealed Carry Permit
From Fairfax County.
In 45 (fourty Five) days (and not a day sooner)

They do it at COST................
Because they want to encourage CCW
and
Build up Customer Base

Stoney
February 13, 2004, 06:18 PM
Telewinz, I just compleated my Ohio CCW class at the New Albany Shooting Range in central Ohio yesterday. 4 three hour classes for 149.95.

The class was great, the test is open book, you will have no problems, good luck.

Abramovich
February 13, 2004, 07:48 PM
In Az:

$80 for the 16 hour class which includes a month range pass
$ 8 for fingerprinting
$50 to DPS for the permit
=$138

Every 4 years for renewal:
$40 for the 4 hour class
$25 for the licence renewal


Actually, it's $50 for the permit, whether the first time or a renewal.

Politically Incorrect
February 13, 2004, 09:06 PM
mrtgbnkr,

Where at in Springfield?

Crom
February 13, 2004, 10:27 PM
You guys are lucky. In Kansas City, Missouri (in a couple of local gunshops) the training is between $200.00 - $225.00 (this was before the injunction) and you furnish your own gun and ammo. At one well known gunshop in St.Louis, a friend told me it was $275.00. The permit is $100.00. Over $300.00 to get a CCW in this state.

Unfortunately, a lot of poor people in Missouri will be unable to take advantage of the CCW (if and when the State Supreme Court decides it's constitutionality). I guess Missouri views CCW as a rich mans privilege.

Erich
February 14, 2004, 10:26 AM
Well, there's your equal protection challenge in the courts to get the fees lowered! :D Actually, I know of at least one club here that has scholarships available for indigent domestic violence victims, to get them the training at no cost to them. I guess they'd still have to come up with the bucks for the permit, though.

F4GIB
February 14, 2004, 10:35 AM
CROM

Please send me you contact info. I have some questions about Missouri.

joelr
February 14, 2004, 12:05 PM
... but the cost of training is really only a small part of the total cost. There's the gun -- a lot of folks with a lot of guns don't have one suitable for carry -- and the belt and the holster, and the cost of the application, and then there's practice.

Doing it responsibly -- with at least once-a-month practice sessions during the first year -- can easily run you over a thousand bucks in the first year, with the majority of the expense being range fees and practice ammo.

braindead0
February 15, 2004, 02:00 PM
Bear in mind, regardless of what these so called 'training classes' are claiming. The Bill as passed includes very specific language that states the class "must provide the pamphlet prepared by the Attorney General". Now, this pamphlet doesn't exist (regardless of what any class says) and it will not exist for potentially 95 days or more after the law takes affect. The reason being the AG has 30 days from the date the law takes affect to draft the 'rules necessary' to issue permits. The Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review can take 65 days or more to review the rules and make sure they do not contradict the law.. and then the AG has another 30 days after the date JCARR approves the rules to actually provide the pamphlet and forms to the County Sheriffs.

There is no way the pamphlet can exist until the rules are passed by JCARR.

Disregard what the AG's QA says, it is not law. Read the bill as passed, and decide for yourself. But any instructor claiming to give a class that meets the requirements of 2923.125(G) without providing the pamphlet is risking liability.

The only exception to this is 2923.125(D)(3)(d) which states that LEO's, Military and Federal Agents (perhaps others, not 100% off hand) firearms training does not have to meet the requirements in 2923.125(G) (presuming I suppose that's it's much more stringent).

There are at least some well know schools here in Ohio that are claiming they don't have to provide the pamphlet. Don't believe me, read 2923.125(G) and you'll not that it plainly states the class "must provide" the pamphlet. Perhaps some classes intend to send the pamphlet out with their certification paper, which may meet the requirement depending on how you interpret "must provide".

Dave T
February 15, 2004, 10:38 PM
I have been charging my students $75 for 16 hrs of training since I started CCW certification training in 1994. My price includes the range fee. The $50 fee to the State for the 4 year permit and fingerprinting are additional.

spooky1
February 15, 2004, 11:03 PM
It can vary quite a bit around here for the class. I checked around before getting mine and found prices from $50-150 for the mandatory 16 hour class. I opted for the $50 class. There were no range fees as the shoot took place on private property in a 70' deep gravel quarry. Renewal classes are $25 for the 4 hour class. The inital permit was $50 and there were no fingerprinting fees either.

Andrew Rothman
February 16, 2004, 12:07 AM
MN:

Training requirement does not specify length of class. Most seem to run 6 hours or so.

Training costs: "market." I paid $235 as an early adopter. Classes seem to be running $135-250.

Permit cost: $100 for 5 years
Renewal: Take another class, and pay $75 renewal for another 5 years.

hso
February 16, 2004, 12:38 AM
Prices for the state required carry class and shooting proficiency test available in Knoxville/Oak Ridge area - 0, 25, 50, 85

Yep. The Oak Ridge PD charges nothing for the CCW classes they give the second Saturday of the month!

jon1996
February 16, 2004, 11:12 AM
in ky,
it cost me $80.00 for a 6 hour class, we shot 50 rounds at a range had to bring our own gun, then it is $60.00 at the sherrifs office for a 5 year permit,
jon

Russ
February 16, 2004, 01:47 PM
Here in the State of Kentucky, the State regulates the max on how much you can be charged for the CCW course. The max is $75. That's for 8 hours. The Sherriff's fee is extra.

The person I used charged $65 and provided lunch. BTW, he had more than enough 9mm ammo for those that brought a 9mm to qualify with. He even sent us home with some.

jon 1996, unless they raised the price recently you got burned. Go here, it still says $75. http://kc3.org/kyccw/license_process.htm

BTW, why don't you put KY in your profile?

jon1996
February 16, 2004, 02:38 PM
hello,
heres a breakdown of my class, the instructor(real good guy) brought 2 extra handguns for people that had a bad one or not one at all, he gave us all coupons for free stuff, he bought and served lunch, he worked a deal out with a gunshop to give us handguns at his cost, he had ammo for a few different guns, i really enjoyed the class, had fun, i dont think i got burned, where i live there is only two people that give the ccw class and i was happy that i got to take it with this guy, but then it is a $60.00 fee at the sheriffs office, by the way russ what part of ky do you live in?
later,
jon

cidirkona
February 16, 2004, 03:32 PM
Yeah, our cost for the class included being able to try out any of the rental pistols we wanted as long as we paid for any ammo over 5 rounds we wanted to try - good thing too. It only took 2 rounds thourgh a .40 subcompact glock to know I didn't want one!

-Colin

Black92LX
February 16, 2004, 04:10 PM
my gun club is charging $60. and they start the first weekend in april.

I am going to take a bunch of courses this summer thru TDI.

Since you are from Ohio, if you are near springfield i believe the clark county sherriff's office is only charging $35.

cidirkona
February 16, 2004, 04:52 PM
Abramovich:
Actually, it's $50 for the permit, whether the first time or a renewal.

I stand corrected, my bad... I've got three and a half years until I have to worry about it though! :P

-Colin

Bill Hook
February 16, 2004, 05:08 PM
Any good reasonable places around Cincinnati? I have some friends and relatives who want to take the course.

Can you take it in KY or IN or elsewhere and have it qualify, provided it meets the 12 hour requirement (10 classroom, 2 range)?

braindead0
February 16, 2004, 05:27 PM
Any good reasonable places around Cincinnati? I have some friends and relatives who want to take the course.
Technically speaking, the law requires the pamphlet (which doesn't exist yet) be provided by the class. In other words, no. ;-).

Our club is tentatively planning on holding a class and having the students sign a waiver indicating they understand the pamphlet will be distributed to them when available. The certificate will include language indicating the pamphlet will be distributed when available (as required by law) and the students will sign a waiver indicating they understand this.

If you find a class, make sure to ask them how they intend to comply with 2923.125(G), if they hum and haw or don't mention anything about a pamphlet,..buyer beware.

Bill Hook
February 16, 2004, 06:49 PM
I'm sure no one will be taking the class for a few months, so they can nail it down some more.

Black92LX
February 16, 2004, 07:27 PM
Any good reasonable places around Cincinnati? I have some friends and relatives who want to take the course.

Can you take it in KY or IN or elsewhere and have it qualify, provided it meets the 12 hour requirement (10 classroom, 2 range)?

check here it's about 1 hour and 15 minutes out 32 to the east.

Tactical Defense Institute. In West Union Ohio.

www.tdiohio.com their website was down last i checked though.

Bill Hook
February 16, 2004, 07:36 PM
Know right where that is, for the most part. Thanks.

I hope they're still in business.

Kharn
February 16, 2004, 08:22 PM
I paid $145 in the DC metro area recently for NRA Basic Pistol (the class happened to be running the next weekend, and I had to take it immediately or I wouldnt get it in before I moved back to school, so I didnt have time to shop around).

Kharn

Black92LX
February 16, 2004, 08:23 PM
ohh they are still in business. might just be updating the sight.

this summer i plan on taking the weekend handgun course. step 1-3 or something like that. but for just CCW i will do it here in ciny since it's convienent and cheaper. just can't wait. not that it really matter since i am not 21 until april.:banghead:

braindead0
February 17, 2004, 07:27 AM
I'm sure no one will be taking the class for a few months, so they can nail it down some more
I wish that were the case, but no.. there are loose cannon instructors and schools that think the clear wording of the law is wrong. One TDI instructor told me "I have it on good authority that the pamphlet will only be available when you apply and that the classes do not have to provide it". His 'Good Authority' is worth zilch, the Attorney Generals QA and other publishes information is also worth nothing until approved by JCARR.... The only thing that you can rely on at this time is the bill as passed.

This is why I will never go to TDI, granted this is just one instructor but it's enough to make me doubt that they screen them very well... or even have a clue when it comes to matters of the law.

I'll be attending LFI instead.

Aikibiker
February 17, 2004, 11:35 AM
Wow you guys are paying a lot of money for your permit courses.

In FL there is no required number of hours and NRA basic pistol suffices for the training.

The first time I took a training course it was at a gunshow and it cost me $35. The class was mostly about laws and the four rules with exactly one round being fired down range to satisfy the statutes. Classes like this are offered at every gunshow I have ever been to in my life and $35 seems to be the standard rate.

The second time I took a CCW training course I tagged along with a friend of mine who was taking his at the local police station. It was free range time and you can never practice the basics to much. That class was offered by the South Daytona Police Department free of charge. The instruction was outstanding. The head instructor, a police captain, has made it his goal to have put over 1,000 armed citizens on the street before his retirement this year.

braindead0
February 17, 2004, 11:51 AM
What's your actual permit fee in FL?

Aikibiker
February 17, 2004, 12:23 PM
braindead0,

I can't rember the exact price it has been a while. I think it is $117 for the permit plus the cost of finger printing, pass port photo, and the class if you don't get one for free.

With the $35 class I took everything cost me about $150 after all was said and done.

I think the permit may cost slightly more for a non resident permit. Something in the neighborhood of $125.

Gun, holster, ammo, magazines, etc. are all extra.

braindead0
February 17, 2004, 01:05 PM
what you save in class fees, are partly made up in permit fees ;-). Our permit fees can be no more than $45 (I believe). And I can pretty much guarantee if people wait that there will be classes for under $100 (we haven't set a price yet, but similar (although slightly shorter) classes that some of our members run cost $50 per person.

I don't think a class that meets the letter of the law should cost more than $100 (assuming handguns and ammo *NOT* Provided).

If you enjoyed reading about "CCW training prices" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!