I'm a novice, heading to range..

PDA

Wiebelhaus
March 20, 2012, 10:02 PM
For the first time within the week, after a bunch of research and buying a firearm I felt comfortable with (Ruger LCR 38spl) I've watched youtube videos about grip and listened to hours of Hickok45 and read some literature on the subject of firearms, I'm ready to go. Thing is, My old man left me to deal with the man duties when I was 6 years of age and then my grandfather shortly thereafter and my friends who are savvy with firearms apparently don't have the time to show me how to use one, so I'm going in blind and by myself. Would there be any advice you'd give yourself in my shoes? Thanks and cheers.

If you enjoyed reading about "I'm a novice, heading to range.." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
metalart
March 20, 2012, 10:14 PM
where are you located? Maybe someone here could show you the ropes....

Wiebelhaus
March 20, 2012, 10:16 PM
I'm in Central Texas, I suppose the most obvious thing to do would be to take a CHL class or do they expect you to have a better-than-novice understanding before taking the class?

Swing
March 20, 2012, 10:18 PM
The NRA has a bunch of courses. You can check for one in your area here (http://www.nrainstructors.org/searchcourse.aspx).

Archangel14
March 20, 2012, 10:21 PM
Welcome. I too have been without a father since I was six. There has never been a man in my life. Here is some advice: start slow. Don't use more powerful +p ammo until you get a feel for your instrument. When you aim, don't look at the target, align the rear and front sight. Focus on the front sight and place in over the target point. Focus on that front sight! With my revolvers I like a high grip and I hold it firmly; no "rolling". Place the shooting thumb on top of the off-hand thumb. Blast away!

rcmodel
March 20, 2012, 10:25 PM