Why Own A 1911?

PDA

jahwarrior
March 29, 2012, 02:56 PM
Let's start a list; any reason you can think of, and funny reasons will not be discouraged! :D

1. Because John Moses Browning smiles upon you from Heaven when you shoot one.
2. Because it annoys plastic wundernine fanbois that your gun is better than theirs. :neener:

If you enjoyed reading about "Why Own A 1911?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DennisE
March 29, 2012, 03:00 PM
Because life's too short to shoot plastic guns! Dennis

rcmodel
March 29, 2012, 03:08 PM
Because I started shooting them in 1962, and I ain't gonna quit now.

rc

CoRoMo
March 29, 2012, 03:08 PM
I think Ruger's model is priced so good and should be made well enough that there is little reason not to buy one. I don't know if I'll ever use it for more than plinking and display, but I want one. It'll be my first 1911 and might also be my last.

SSN Vet
March 29, 2012, 03:27 PM
because SAO triggers are where it's at

Vern Humphrey
March 29, 2012, 03:37 PM
Because tens of thousands of Mexicans, Germans, Japanese, Moros, North Koreans, Chinese and North Viet Namese can't be wrong.

allaroundhunter
March 29, 2012, 03:40 PM
Because they have a soul.

scaatylobo
March 29, 2012, 03:45 PM
I am not a snob and I shoot and carry anything I shoot well.

Not owning a 1911 is like not owning a .22 RF pistol & revolver & rifle,at least a few of each :evil:.

But I also own and carry 6 Glocks and a 'few' other brands.

R.W.Dale
March 29, 2012, 03:50 PM
Cause what other automatic only holds 7 rounds and weights almost as much as a small toolbox?

Because they have a soul.

Would that be the Philippine ones or the Brazilian ones?

Swami
March 29, 2012, 03:59 PM
Because the first time I shot one I understood.

thefamcnaj
March 29, 2012, 04:08 PM
Because my grand daddy said so.
(It was 1911 or nothing for him)
And because it makes me feel good :)

Demitrios