Legality of 3D printing gun parts and having them shipped

PDA

Positivity
April 10, 2012, 11:56 PM
What is the legality of 3D printing non Class 3 gun parts and having them shipped to my door step? For example, would it be legal for me to have a stainless steel bolt action receiver & barrel printed and shipped to me?

As a bit of background, 3D printing is using a specialized printer to print out a 3D model in various materials. Usually these models are kept as a computer file designed by the customer.

If you enjoyed reading about "Legality of 3D printing gun parts and having them shipped" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
seanie!
April 11, 2012, 12:07 AM
I'm no legal expert, but my guess is that it would be illegal unless you're an FFL holder? It's my understanding that the receiver of a bolt action rifle is the technical firearm. Hence, it would be like shipping a brand new firearm straight to your door. I could be wrong though. I have been plenty of times.

Twiki357
April 11, 2012, 02:09 AM
If my understanding of 3D printing is correct, the "Print" is made out of a plastic or resin type of material and would not be a functioning firearm. If this is true, there should be no problem any more than if it were a toy or non-functioning display model. But, like seanie, I could be wrong. The key in my mind is, Is it an actual weapon.

JohnKSa
April 11, 2012, 02:15 AM
Metal parts can now be printed. They're sufficiently strong for many functioning parts but I don't know of the technology is advanced enough to make parts that are strong enough to use as a functioning bolt-action rifle receiver or firearm barrel yet.

mnrivrat
April 11, 2012, 06:56 AM
have a stainless steel bolt action receiver & barrel printed